Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Symbol

7 Comments

Symbol: a thing that represents or stands for something else, especially a material object representing something abstract.

symbol

In some cultures a person visiting a loved one’s grave leaves a memento, sometimes a pebble, to show they’ve been by. To symbolize their love, their loss. I shot this at our small and historical local cemetery.

You can see other representations of the idea of symbol at the original post, or visit a few of my favorites here, here and here.

What symbols do you see in your own life? Want to share with us? Just post a photo and link to the original post.

It’s an interesting concept to try to capture visually. I look forward to seeing what you find.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Symbol

  1. I always remember years ago reading about a simple solution to problems. It was basically to close you eyes, focus of the problem and then open a newspaper to a random page and read it – More often than not something you read helps you create a solution – oddly enough – I have always found it works 🙂

    Like

  2. We read Reilly and Denny’s comment! What! Mommy will have to give it a try sometimes!

    Like

  3. I’d never heard this before! Thank you for pointing it out.

    Like

  4. They taught us something similar to Bree’s solution at church when I was in youth group. Only, you used the bible instead.

    I like your interpretation. When I was in Japan I notice people would put pebbles on shrines, I guess a similar custom.

    Like

  5. I saw these little stones at a Jewish cemetary in Frankfurt. They were placed on small name-blocks in a wall.
    https://minahasato.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/gnsehaut-und-beine/

    Like

  6. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.