Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Unusual

12 Comments

I was in Alabama over the 4th of July. We got to watch fireworks from a boat, out in the middle of a huge lake alongside hundreds of other boats. It was beautiful.

Patriotic evening on the water.

It’s unusual that I would share with you an imperfect image. But I kind of liked the way this one looked even though it wasn’t crisp. And, it’s the only shot I took of the fireworks, because I realized the boat was rocking too much to ever get a clear shot.

And that’s unusual too…me only taking one shot of anything!

Headed home the water was really rough, making the boat under my feet heave and roll. These are some of the other boats headed home along side of us…the green bow and white stern lights shifting in the waves as we all rocked and rolled.

At least we’re all going in the same direction.

Kind of makes me seasick even now, weeks later.

Having fun with it now.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Unusual

  1. wow I like that first one-it is so interesting!! The thought of all that rocking did not sound like fun though!

    Like

  2. Interesting shots, but I’m glad you took them and not me — I get seasick just thinking about that rocking boat!

    Like

    • It was pretty scary for sure. In the dark with all the boats moving around us. Some of the drivers were a little aggressive given we were in tight together and it was dark and the water was so choppy.

      Like

  3. Wonderful (and unusual) play with lights. Light-painting, almost. I really like the first one. It reminds me of our flag. 🙂

    Like

  4. Beautiful post! Even while the picture isn’t perfect, i think that it has a really nice touch to it! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Unusual: Stairs 4 | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: The Donkey Said “What’s Behind Me” – Say It With A Camera

  7. I really like the 2nd one. It looks like abstract neon light art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

