Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Busy busy busy but in a fun way.

28 Comments

Proud to be an American.


Oh the benefits of retirement! For the past week we’ve had two of my siblings visit and instead of me heading off to work while they go exploring I’ve been able to enjoy the beautiful weather and fun sights right along with them. Each day we did something different, and if I weren’t headed out again today I’d try to show you all of it. But, given limited time, and your limited patience, I’ll just share with you the day we spent in Detroit. As you’ll see, it was a long and varied day.

Our first stop was Belle Isle, a park on an island in the middle of the Detroit River. There’s a giant fountain on the eastern edge of the island and it’s very beautiful, but when I looked at my images once we were home I was fascinated by this shot – the spikes of water shooting up into the blue sky.

Look closely at the ribbons of water.

The shot doesn’t show the whole fountain, but you can see that anywhere.

There’s a beautiful glass arboretum on the island. We stopped to visit, but it was only open Thursday through Sunday. We were there on a Tuesday.

Historic building glowed when the sun came out from behind clouds.

Still, it was beautiful and the grounds around it are gorgeous.

Then we drove over to the far east end of the island and wandered through a beautiful grassy meadow…

Such a beautiful day.

…where we found a functioning lighthouse. Another historic building, just beautiful in the sun, standing majestic under the shifting clouds.

Been standing there for years warning ships that an island lives in the middle of the river.

After spending several hours on the island we went back to the city and parked along the waterfront. It’s been developed into a beautiful walkway, part of which travels behind General Motors’ headquarters.

People working here have a pretty cool view from their offices.

From the Riverwalk we watched ships travel the river between Great Lakes.

Afternoon light made this ship glow.

Across the river is Windsor, Canada. We waved, and her flag waved back.

Up in town, Joe Lewis’ fist waited to great us.

Showing the strength of Detroit.

It was a beautiful day, the day after hundreds of thousands of people had been at Hart Plaza, right where we were standing, enjoying the fireworks. Already the plaza had been cleaned up.

Such pretty colors, the sky and the flags.

Then we took the People Mover, an elevated train, over to Greektown for dinner.

All aboard!

Along the way we saw a lot of the city, and watched progress being made on another new building.

Getting it done.

We had a great dinner at Greektown and then headed back to the river and the car.

Waiting for the train and enjoying the view, all the way across the river to Windsor.

Detroit is on the move…we enjoyed our visit, but we had to move on too. My Fitbit recorded 19,000+ steps. Our feet were tired, our bellies were full, time to head for home. Another great day of retirement was in the book.

I’m looking forward to the next adventure!

Skyline from the train.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

28 thoughts on “Busy busy busy but in a fun way.

  1. You have a great eye for images. Thanks for the sunny skies and fluffy clouds!

    Like

  2. Wonderful photos! Thanks for taking us along!

    Like

  3. That is what I noticed right away also–that beautiful sky. The Joe Lewis symbol is pretty darn cool! That gets a lot of photos, I am guessing?

    Like

  4. Great pictures and I am so happy you got to go exploring too! Your photo of the arboretum is awesome! Love all those clouds!

    Like

  5. Wow what a change since I was last in Detroit!

    Like

  6. Whew! I’m exhausted now, but it was a beautiful day – the first I’ve seen of Detroit in over 40 years.

    Like

  7. What a gorgeous day you had for your adventure! I’ve never been to Detroit or Belle Isle, but I can see I must.

    Like

  8. Kudos to you, you made Detroit look GOOD!!!! 😉

    Like

  9. Thanks for sharing your outing with us!

    Like

  10. Captivating images. Fun to see a part of the world I haven’t visited.

    Like

  11. Thanks for the Detroit tour, Dawn. I especially enjoyed Belle Isle, since I’ve been hearing about it for years from my husband, who grew up in Detroit.

    Like

  12. Lots of it does look good but of course there’s much
    more that needs to be done.

    Like

  13. Thank you. It’s always fun to see new places.

    Like

  14. This most certainly does not depict what we hear on the news about Detroit. Your pictures are beautiful and they make me want to visit, most definitely the island for we love quiet and solitude. We looked up Greektown on the internet.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

    Like

  15. Those are some pawsome pawtographs.

    Sherman & Gemini

    Like

    • Thank you Sherman & Gemini! Hope things are good down there in the Keyes! Now that I’m home (just last night) I hope to get some photos of my vacation up on the blog. But first I have to do laundry. And grocery shopping. And other mundane things.

      Like

  16. Looks like you had a great adventure with your family. I can’t wait to be retired.

    Like

    • Yes we did have a great time. Lots more adventures than just the Detroit trip…and then I flew south with them when they went home. So another 10 days down there. The next post will show you a little of what I did while I was off on vacation. Working on that now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

