Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Visitors

13 Comments

What are you doing out there lady?


We’ve been enjoying the orioles again this spring, as well as lots of other pretty birds.

Tonight I took a chair out into the yard, trying to get a shot of the orioles glowing in the evening sun. Boy they are suspicious birds.

Do I have jelly on my beak?

Though I was sitting far away from the feeder, and using my long lens, they were still skittish. Especially when this face appeared in the window only inches away from their feeder.

Hey mama! What are you ….ooops…sorry mama!

Even with the distraction the male and female oriole each showed up for a few fleeting moments.

You can’t see me if I hide behind this pole. Can you?

The goldfinches, on the other hand, are much less finicky about paparazzo like me.

On the lookout. The food lady needs to fill the thistle feeder.

Earlier today we had a visitor who had a hankering for jelly. He’s been here before, and has, in fact, enthusiastically chewed the feeder trying to get the last drop.

Hey lady! It’s not my fault if you don’t have a squirrel baffle on this feeder pole!

And yesterday Mr. Grosbeak dropped by. He’s not shy at all, and told me right away that I had inadvertently allowed the safflower seed level to drop to an unacceptable level.

This is unacceptable lady! You are a slacker!

I fixed that immediately. Sorry sir.

So hard to keep peace among the youngsters.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Visitors

  1. Your photo comments are hilarious! Hi Katie!

    Like

  2. Our Orioles are very suspicious too. They don’t like when I sit on the front deck, several feet away but within sight of the feeders. My poor birds have had a hard time with their food person this year.

    Like

  3. I love the picture of Katie behind the glass!

    Like

  4. You have some beautiful birds to watch. We haven’t seen Goldfinches this year, don’t know why. Our Baltimore couple have already kicked the kids out of the nest. They spend a lot of time down at the jelly dish!

    Like

    • Our Orioles must have done that too because they’re at the feeder all the time now…just in the past week. We had them early spring and then not so much while they were busy nesting. I guess they’re retired now! We haven’t seen as many goldfinches as normal either. I wonder what’s up?

      Like

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a black squirrel! You’ve got such interesting critters around your place, Dawn — and I really like the princess in the window!

    Like

    • This one isn’t even one of the normal black squirrels, sort of a hybrid I think. I hadn’t seen it before this week. We never had black squirrels at all my entire life until about 2 years ago. They were always way way up north. I guess they’ve moved in now though.

      The princess likes all the windows out the back. She can keep track of her country.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your visitors are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

