Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Shelties know how to paw-tee!!

7 Comments

Paw-TEE!

Katie here. I’ve had to bug and bug and bug mama to let me tell you about the Sheltie get together held over at one of my parks. Mama says there are more important things to write about and it’s not my blog, but as we all know there is nothing more important than me, and of course this is my blog!

Mama is getting old and a bit senile if you ask me.

Anyway. Last Sunday was the 2nd annual Sheltie Meet and Greet. Maybe you were even there! If I didn’t get to meet you I’m sorry. I did stay a little stand offish; being a princess and all I let people stop by to meet me! I didn’t do too much mixing and mingling because it was very hot and mama knows I can get a bit cranky when I’m hot. And I don’t allow any butt sniffing either. No way. A princess does not tolerate that at all and I tend to snap at any doggie that tries. So mama didn’t let most dogs get too close.

Lots of sniffing going on. I did not partake.

Mama said the party was all about the people getting to see all the gorgeous dogs and less about us dogs getting to meet and play. I think she’s delusional.

A special sheltie.

My goodness there were a lot of beautiful dogs! Ninety shelties said they’d be there and bring their people. We didn’t count, but there sure were a lot!

There was plenty of ear skritching…

That’s the spot!

…and tummy tickling.

Don’t stop!

I got to visit for a few minutes with Cookie and Zohan and their folks. We met them at last year’s sheltie party. They were just as calm and collected as I remembered, hanging out with their parents in the shade.

Going with the flow, hanging out with mom and dad.

And I met a new friend named Blue and his mom. He was calm too and we liked hanging out together.

Hey! Got anything to eat?

But you know what I did? (Seems like I always do something at these things that embarrasses mama.) Blue’s mom got him a piece of doggie cake, and when she put his plate on the ground he was sort of sniffing it and nibbled off a little piece, just testing you know? And I swooped in and grabbed the whole piece and gulped it down!

I’m sorry Blue. I shouldn’t have eaten your cake.

All I left him were a few crumb! Mama was mortified. I was lucky Blue didn’t bite my nose off, but all he did was calmly lick up the crumbs. He even stayed my friend. Mama says I should apologize right now, so I will. But geeze mama, why didn’t you just go and get him another piece! No excuses that it didn’t occur to you, mama. As I said, you’re starting to get senile.

Blue was a gentleman, and even after I stole his cake we were able to settle down together and watch all the other shelties. It’s a comfortable friendship.

Hanging out together.

I had a good time, other than when we all marched up to a hill to get a group picture. It was so hot I didn’t want to go. I didn’t want to sit in the sun. I didn’t want to be next to a whole lot of other shelties and people I didn’t know.

See me sitting by myself over there toward the left? Mama was taking a picture!!

Mama didn’t make me sit there very long. We got up and walked back down the hill, I went to sit under a picnic table in the shade and mama took more pictures. I’m a good girl and sat patiently under that table while she tried to get the whole group in one shot.

Only part of the group.

It was impossible. There were just way too many people and beautiful dogs. Shelties of every size and color…

Big and little, sable and blue and tri and more.

…every face was beautiful…

Such a sweet face.

…every dog was adorable…

Want to play?

…and lots of fun was had by all.

Can’t stop grinning!

I didn’t play at all, and only interacted with a couple dogs, but I enjoyed watching the rest of them greet each other….

Emily Ann, the rock star, meets Harvey one of the greeters.

….and play with each other…

Attack!!!!

…still, I had a good time. I want to thank the organizers and hosts, Linda and Ty, and anybody else that had a hand (or paw) in putting this together. I know it was a lot of work and I appreciate you giving me a chance to take my mama to my park and hang out with so many other nice dogs and people!

Look at all these shelties mama!

Mama is always coming up with something new to do and I appreciate her effort. But I think our next adventure should include air conditioning. Can you work on that mama?

I’ll go take a nap now in preparation.

Love ya mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Shelties know how to paw-tee!!

  1. I sooo loved these photos and sure wish we could have gone. They need to do this in the Fall when the weather is better!!! Dakota would be like Katie and probably not interact with the other dogs much but I would love to see so many Shelties in one place!

    Like

  2. Blue wasn’t mad you took his cake Katie girl – he is use to his sister Skye swooping in and stealing his food at home. Besides his mama says he need less treats so she didn’t mind you sharing his cake at all plus he got more blueberry treats for being so nice.

    Like

  3. I’m with you, Katie. Crowds in the hot sun make me cranky too!

    Like

  4. Wow, awesome pic, i love the post.

    Like

  5. Ear skritching, tummy tickling, and CAKE all good, great even… butt sniffing, no. Good for you, Katie. I know sniffing is a big way to get to know each other for dogs but I like your thoughts on sniffing. All beautiful faces at the sheltie party! I think you and Blue made a good friendship! I am not much for a big bunch of people and add heat and humidity and I am cooked and I get a cranky. Hoping for air conditioning for you next time, Katie… but it sure is a beautiful place for a meet and greet!

    Like

  6. This looks like so much fun — I wish Dallas and I could’ve gone! Katie, I laughed out loud at you swooping in and stealing Blue’s cake. That’s just the sort of thing Dallas would do! He doesn’t do butt-sniffing either, nor does he want others messing around back there. When he was little, we had Sheltie gatherings, but we haven’t had one in ages. I wonder if the Shelties miss seeing each other??

    Like

  7. I love shelties so much. My friend has three! she always gets stopped by people when she is walking them because they look so majestic and they are just so well behaved. I think your photos are fantastic, what a day you had!

    Like

Leave a Reply

