Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

A walk in the woods…and sunset too

20 Comments

Yesterday, after the fog lifted I wandered in the Leelanau State Park hiking trails that wind through cedar and beech trees, then up to the dunes that separate the woods from the shore of Lake Michigan.

Come with me for a walk in the woods!

It’s a magical place, and I was lucky – there were very few bugs! I loved how the light sifted through the newly minted leaves.

Spring green.

And though there were few bugs, there were plenty of natives scurrying around in the leaves on the forest floor…

Anything good to eat down there?

…and scolding me from behind tree trunks.

Stay away lady!!

I enjoyed the cool trail through the damp deep woods…

What’s down there?

…but after a bit the trail left the dark woods and began to climb up and around sandy and more open dunes. The trees changed too, from deep dark forest to open and airy.

Let the sunshine in!

Eventually the trail spilled out onto perfectly beautiful dunes and provided a view of the lake. What a pretty picture!

Such a pretty place.

I probably should have climbed over those dunes to the lake. You never know what you’ll find. But it was getting late in the day, so I headed on through the woods. I met a new friend sleeping in a sunny spot on the trail. He wasn’t as excited to meet me as I was to notice him, and he silently moved away.

See you later lady!

And just before the parking lot I found a sweet little patch of forget-me-nots.

As if I could.

Later in the evening I waited in anticipation for sunset. I must have run down to the beach a dozen times, hoping that this was the one great shot. Turns out it was a pink and purple, more gentle kind of sunset. Still it was pretty. I’ve put together a short slide show for your enjoyment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That way you don’t have to do all those stairs yourself.

Magical

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “A walk in the woods…and sunset too

  1. It was a beautiful walk no a lovely sunset, all enjoyed from the comfort of my lazy chair.

    Like

  2. Hi Dawn!

    Lovely, going on your trip with you today…..

    I’m going to call them “as-if-I-coulds” from now on…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How kind of you to offer a front row seat!

    Like

  4. what a lovely walk. Breathtaking sunsets

    Like

  5. That is a pawsome walking trail

    Like

  6. Beautiful pictures and such a lovely place.

    Like

  7. Beautiful! And I’m experiencing much of the same, just having arrived here in Michigan.

    Like

  8. Oh Gosh… love the forget-me-nots, such a beautiful blue. Beautiful place and I enjoyed the slideshow!

    Like

  9. Sure your silent frind will forget you not

    Like

Leave a Reply

