Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The skies they are a changing

17 Comments

I’m off on a little vacation; just me myself and I plus one cat. And a really big lake.

On the five hour drive north I saw a couple sights worthy of stopping, even though it was a drizzling, damp, grey, kind of nothing in particular sort of day.

New corn.

Still, there was evidence that spring was marching on regardless of the dreary weather.

A hillside full of trillium.

At the lake mist was still clinging to the hilltops above the gentle giant of a lake.

Misty morning on the lake.

I went for my first walk along the shore, glad to be near the water, not caring what the weather would bring. And then I noticed a lightening of the air; the sun was fighting the low hanging clouds.

A bit of blue to brighten the day.

But looking the other way down the beach, the clouds were piling in.

Purple clouds.

The sun and clouds tussled the rest of the day, until late in the afternoon when the sun finally broke free.

Sunshine, clouds, it’s all good.

I thought perhaps there would be a spectacular sunset, but now mist is moving from the horizon toward shore. There probably won’t be any sunset at all.

An lake freighter slides through the mist.

Which works out fine, because I don’t think I can stay awake that long anyway.

Happy to be here.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “The skies they are a changing

  1. Cat? Does the Princess know about this?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I’m a beach lover through and through, I find myself loving that new corn picture. Something about the hope of a good crop, I guess. Thanks for these lovely photos.

    Like

  3. loved seeing the blue skies breaking through!

    Like

  4. We have plenty of smallish lakes up here. I miss the Great Lakes. Fabulous photos.
    I’ve had cats my whole life, but never one who enjoyed road trips! You must introduce your kitty some day, please!

    Like

  5. Such beauty up there! Thanks for sharing it. Nice to take a mini-vacay every now and then (but I hope you remember to return with cookies for the princess!)

    Like

  6. I am so happy for you! I would love to be on a little vacation all by myself near the ocean or a quiet lake! Have a wonderful time!

    Like

  7. Lovely photos. I especially like the first misty lake pic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

