Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Mom and her birds

20 Comments

On this Mother’s Day I’m reminded how much my mom loved birds. She kept a life list of birds she’d seen, and they figured prominently in her descriptions of travel around the world.

A busy morning at the feeders.

In the last week, here in Michigan, the summer birds are arriving. I have photos of some of them, taken in bad light, through a dirty window.

Still, I know if she had been here she’d have been just as thrilled as I am to see them return.

Mr. Oriole is a very nervous eater, twisting his head this way and that to see what we’re doing inside.

Whatcha looking at lady?

But he’s also a pig and can’t resist stopping for another bit to eat. Frequently.

Yum!

Mrs. Oriole is a frequent visitor too, a bit less nervous, but just as hungry.

Good morning lady!

Yesterday I saw the season’s first male rose breasted grosbeak. This morning he hung out at the feeder for a long time, not afraid at all even when my camera lens hit the dirty window separating us.

Don’t bother me, I’m eating!

And last night, with camera focused on the feeder, we had another visitor to our yard.

Backyard streaker!

Mom would have gotten a kick out of that too.

So…though I don’t have a recent picture of her, I still think of mom every day, especially as I share with her the wonders of my backyard.

Just like she shared with me her love of everything wild and beautiful.

Happy Mother’s Day mom. We miss you.

Another mom hanging out in my backyard.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Mom and her birds

  1. A fine mother’s day post, Dawn. Birds of a feather, you and your mom!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely Mother’s Day post, Dawn. 🙂 I laughed when I saw your streaker. We’ve had a few of them here, too, and they always remind me of my mother.

    Like

  3. Dawn, so exciting viewing the feeder. I went for a walk while visiting my daughter in OH and found a pair of yellow warblers making their nest. I hope to return soon to video the chicks. I videoed just a little of them bringing in the makings for the nest. Maybe tomorrow I can get more footage.

    Your mother left you with a legacy.

    Like

  4. My mom really likes birds too and always has at least one bird feeder set up wherever she lives. I remember being about five years old and learning what chickadees and juncos were because they visited the feeder outside the kitchen window.

    Like

  5. Happy Mother’s Day, Dawn! Love that the birds are back — Dallas would have wanted to chase that streaker though!

    Like

  6. Happy Mutter’s Day, hope it was fantastic.

    Love the pawtographs of the birds. We don’t see many of the birds that Dad grew up with in Key West.

    Dog Speed,

    Sherman & Gemini

    Like

    • I bet the birds are all different down there! My mom always liked to find out what birds were local when she was in a place far far away from home. She’d often buy a bird book from a location just to figure out what she was seeing when she traveled.

      Like

  7. Our Baltimore Orioles are eating grape jelly faster than we can buy it! Your first picture of Mr. Oriole made me giggle… great caption!

    Like

    • They certainly love that jelly. I’ve read it’s not that good for them, but when they have a choice on my feeder between jelly and real oranges, they always choose the jelly. Until it’s gone, then they eat the oranges. Just like kids.

      Like

  8. Your memory of your mum and tribute is certainly not faded by the window

    Like

    • Thank you Abrie! I tried to go out to the yard to photograph them, but they weren’t happy with that…and the background was still the dirty window, just from the other side. So I’ve resigned myself to shooting through the window. They’re so pretty I don’t mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. A lovely tribute to your mother. And such cute birds, beautifully captured.

    Like

  10. We love all the pictures of the birds and the deer too. Our mommy got herself a used bird clock. A different bird chirps on the hour. It is making her happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

