Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The great sweet potato black bean chili experiment

20 Comments

One of you, I’m unsure who, gave me a recipe for sweet potato and black bean chili. It was a long time ago, long before the latest trip, maybe even before my adventures in Florida and Alabama.

The recipe is handwritten on a scrap of paper that I’ve saved from the trash numerous times. It’s become crumpled and worn, and I can hardly read my writing.

Finally, this week, I bought the ingredients (except for chipotle powder, what is that??) and included it in my weekly meal plan.

Chili fixings

And here is where I need your help. If you gave me this recipe I have a couple of questions. Obviously I copied it down in a hurry because there are a couple things that make no sense.

My list of ingredients doesn’t include garlic powder, but the instructions say to add garlic powder…so I’m wondering how much? I had already used the 4 cloves of garlic, which was in my ingredients list, but then wasn’t mentioned in the instructions, so I just tossed that in with the sweet potato and onion at the beginning. The recipe called for 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and since I had some garlic salt in my spice drawer I used that, hoping it work work in lieu of the garlic powder.

And then there was the ‘stock.’ Once again I must have skipped that in the ingredients list…but as I’m going putting the chili together the instructions said to add the stock. What stock? Assuming vegetable, but how much? I poured in a half cup, and then added a bit more later to thin the whole thing out a bit.

All in all the final result was amazing. Though I wonder what it would taste like if I had chipolata powder. But I guess given it’s a chili I can be flexible.

Yummy and good for you too!

Still…I’d like to correct the recipe, because I think this one is a keeper.

Thank you to the person that sent me the recipe. I look forward to clarifications!

Pretty good start.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “The great sweet potato black bean chili experiment

  1. I think chipotle is maybe smoked chilli pepper – it all sounds lovely! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I gave you the recipe. 🙂 Will email it to you again with some better explanations. Too bad you didn’t use chipotle. It really jazzes it up with a nice, smokey flavor. 🙂 Chipotles in adobo sauce can be found in with the Mexican/International foods. If you make this again, forget chipotle powder (which is harder to find) and go for the canned chipotles in adobo sauce. You’ll only need one chipotle (which is a smoke jalapeno pepper, by the way). Cut one in half, remove the seeds (that’s where all the heat is), and chop it up. Add when you’re sauteeing the onions and sweet potatoes.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow–this does look yummy and thanks to Robin I now have the link to the recipe!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is one that even I may try.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I cook with chipotle powder, but use it sparingly. Good stuff!

    Like

  6. We are going to give this a try… thank you Dawn and Robin for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You can freeze all those chipotles you don’t use from the can, too. I used to hate opening a can to only use one of them. But those seeds are SPICY, so heed Robin’s advice and remove them 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

