Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Storms brewing ahead

20 Comments


Today I took the dog for a walk at a local park. The clouds were heavy, dark, and hanging low over the fields and ponds. I felt melancholy and I wondered why.

And then I remembered.

The time is coming for me to attend another Sorrow to Strength Conference in Washington DC. The Truck Safety Coalition hosts the conference every two years; I’ve been to six of them since dad was killed by a sleepy semi driver in 2004.

The conference is a time for families to join others, all of whom have been damaged by preventable truck crashes, to share their stories, gain support, and learn about truck safety issues. Some families are struggling with permanent injuries, others are grieving the loss of loved ones. And some are trying to deal with both injury and loss.

It’s almost too much to fathom, all those people in one room.

But it’s a good thing too, because you won’t meet a better group of people to support a family in the throes of grief. These are people that know how it feels to get that call or to sit next to a hospital bed knowing that life will never be the same, but hoping for at least a semblance of normalcy sometime in the future.

It’s a difficult conference to attend, but it’s called Sorrow to Strength for a reason. We begin filled with sorrow, and leave, after several days, stronger for having been together. We’ll be talking to Congressional members, agency employees, and the media about truck safety issues. The current political environment in DC is not particularly conducive to regulation these days. But we aren’t giving up finding compromises that make our roads safer for everyone.

Everyone has trepidation as they head to DC for this conference. Attending dredges up all the old memories and emotions. Even after almost thirteen years I still get anxious thinking about the crash, anticipating the questions, planning for the meetings.

But then I think about dad. And so many others that I’ve come to know over the years. There will be new families attending this year, there always are. They are stark reminders that every year, every month, every day that goes by without solutions more people are being injured and killed. This is no time to let politics get in our way.

Wish us luck.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Storms brewing ahead

  1. hope it goes well and helps with the healing

    Like

  2. Love and luck to you, Dawn.

    Like

  3. I hope you help hurting people heal, and that ears, minds and hearts in Washington are opened to the Truck Safety voice.
    .

    Like

  4. I send you hugs and wishes for the best of luck and strength. In this political climate you will all need an abundance of all.

    Like

  5. I’m sorry about your dad and I hope the gathering goes well. Wonderful pictures of a gloomy day. It certainly sets the mood.

    Like

  6. More than luck, Dawn! The best for you and your group and all Americans! You are certainly doing your part, and you inspire others (e.g., me).

    Like

    • Thank you Pamela. I appreciate your support so much. I don’t always think I am doing enough, and of course I could always do more. But it helps to know others understand.

      Like

  7. I’m sorry you’re having to attend this one, but I hope your efforts will prove fruitful. Thirteen years is a LONG time — how lucky the newbies are to have seasoned pros like you to help them through their anger and grief. Safe travels, Dawn!

    Like

  8. Sorry to read about your father and your loss. I can understand that it’s difficult to attend a conference like Sorrow to Strength, but hopefully there will be some healing in the process. My heart is with you, Dawn.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Otto. I appreciate your support. Each time we attend the pain washes back over us…but we end up doing good work together, so it seems worth the additional tears.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am so sorry Dawn. My thoughts will be with you as you attend this conference.

    Like

  10. I hope the conference goes well for you all and that you get to experience beautiful weather along the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

