Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Still experimenting

27 Comments

I think it’s been more than a year now that I’ve been trying to cook meatless meals. We started out eliminating red meat, and that’s been a constant ever since, except for an occasional night out.

I’ve talked about trying to cook vegetarian and even vegan on this blog. How it was a learning curve and a slow process. How I felt clumsy, how worrying about meal planning and the actual preparation seemed to take up the entire day.

In the beginning there are tomatoes.

You’d think after a year it would get easier. But it hasn’t, though now I have most of what I used to think of as odd ingredients stocked in my pantry, so shopping is easier. The actual searching for recipes and the chopping and stirring and roasting, well, it all still takes a lot of time.

Tonight I made eggplant parmesan. It was supposed to be vegan, but I used real parmesan cheese and cow’s milk, so it was only vegetarian. I have to say, it was better than any eggplant parmesan I’ve had in any restaurant. I’ll make it again for sure.

Yummy.

We’re trying to eat meatless meals about half the time. Sometimes we’re doing that even more than half our meals. I haven’t really seen a difference in our health, but I have to believe we’re better off eating like this than consuming heavy meals with meat as the main course.

And another benefit I just noticed today; all that produce piled up on the kitchen counter sure is pretty.

I guess we’ll just keep on experimenting.

Colorful and good too!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “Still experimenting

  1. This looks great, Dawn! I’ve been vegetarian for 45 years now–4 of those vegan. After my cancer surgeries last year, I lost all my taste for vegan and craved cheese–Havarti to be specific. So back to vegetarian for me. And I still cannot get enough cheese! Go figure, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know how different you really feel, but I think it comes out in less ailments and more longevity. I could not do vegan – I can live without meat, but not cheeses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve thought that about meat and cheese too…could live without meat, but not without cheese. But now I’ve had several dishes without cheese that were great, so I know I could eat less cheese. Not that I actually HAVE eaten less cheese…but I could. I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That should be fewer ailments, shouldn’t it?

    Like

  4. And….not to mention such colorful photo subjects.

    Like

  5. We gave up factory processed meat about three years ago – I think the term is “flexitarian” – we still eat seafood, eggs, and cheese. Every so often, I crave something charred, especially when I smell a BBQ.

    I can’t say that there are noticeable benefits, but it does ease our guilt about the treatment of the animals in the industrialized food system.

    Like

    • Yes there is that part of the argument to turn to plant based food too. I agree, sometimes I can’t eat meat because it reminds me too much of whatever it was prior. And I also agree when I smell a steakhouse I do sort of think it might be good, but I was really never a steak person before. I think it’s like coffee for me…smells good, but I don’t like the taste.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not much of a red meat lover, but I’m not sure I’d want to give up seafood or chicken. Guess it’s all about moderation. Still, even though you might not think it’s helping your health, I’ll bet it is!

    Like

    • Moderation in anything is important and probably our biggest problem in this house. And I bet it is helping us too. I guess I’ll find out at the next doctor appointment when they do the blood work.

      Like

  7. Oh boy that looks terrific
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Love eggplant done this way -so yummy

    Like

  9. I am not a vegetarian myself, but don’t mind eating it. And those eggplant parmesan look delicious. 🙂

    Like

  10. Hi Dawn,
    I ound out when I became vegetarian and then vegan that I actually enjoyed cooking more. I appreciated the veggies more and enjoyed the washing, chopping, etc. and maybe somewhere in my soul I appreciated not using animals….and that made cooking more enjoyable. Now living on the road with an infinitesimal kitchen, sometimes I get impatient about cooking . I don’t have room to store some of the different ingredients and there isn’t always a store around that has what I want. Because of this I usually eat a lot simpler, and sometimes I’m veg instead of vegan. Also another thing is that I don’t have to worry about anyone else liking what I cook, so that takes some of the pressure off.
    Anyway, glad to hear you are still working at it…hope you enjoy it!

    Like

    • I think the stress for me is trying to compromise the vegan/vegetarian lifestyle with my meat-loving husband. I worry more about whether he will like it than what I might like. Plus, cooking for just me would be easier as it would be a lot less and everything would last longer, making for more leftovers and less actually cooking time.

      We are enjoying some of it. Some of it not so much! LOL

      Like

  11. We are not red meat eaters- maybe once a year- mostly chicken and salmon and loads of vegetables! Roasted Sweet potato every night, broccoli, stewed eggplant with mushrooms and red pepper, roasted fennel, quinoa, mini sweet peppers and beets to name a few!

    Like

    • Roasted sweet potato every night? Do you just roast up a bunch of them once a week? The stewed eggplant with mushrooms sounds interested, as does roasted fennel. Do those have recipes?

      Like

      • I roast them each in tin foil and then keep them in the refrigerator for all week-cut them in half & they heat up in the microwave no problem! Roasted fennel I make by slicing up the bulbs into pieces- thick ones, throw them in a ziploc and add honey- maybe 1/4 cup and some olive oil- leave them in there 10 minutes or so then spread on roasting pan lined with foil and roast 20-30 minutes or until they are softish and browned. Hot oven- 400.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. We signed up for a CSA this year, with enough supposedly to feed 4 people. I think we might be vegetarians this summer! Got a recipe for that eggplant? It’s one of my favorite Italian dishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

