Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Surprise!

16 Comments

Katie here. No I’m not the surprise…you knew I’d pop up again sooner or later. I’ve been mostly resting since we got home from our grand adventure. I still get my mama up really early every morning, but then we go back to sleep. She seems to need more sleep these days. Guess she’s getting old.

Anyway.

Yesterday afternoon it started to snow. Mama made me go sit in it.

Really mama?!

She thought I looked pretty with the snow on my fur. I thought she was being ridiculous. I mean, when it rains I don’t make her go stand around outside do I? Oh. Well, yes I do, come to think of it.

Ahem.

Mama was surprised that so much snow had stuck around when we got up this morning. It was all over the tops of trees, but didn’t seem to get to the shrubs underneath. She says it was really pretty and we ran outside to take pictures.

Hey mama, come on out, the snow is great!

Well. She took pictures, I spent the time sniffing stuff, checking to make sure it was all safe you know. But when she called me to COME! I ran right over to her. I love doing that because, as you all expect, mama has a treat for me. Sometimes I run with my eyes closed, dreaming about that luscious treat.

Running for joy in the last snow of the season.

Mama was fascinated with how the snow emphasized the shapes of the trees…

Birch branches outlined in fresh snow.

…sometimes, she says, you don’t notice things like this until the snow points them out.

Look at all the cool shapes out there!

And then do you know what happened? The sun came out! Man oh man that sure made stuff even prettier!

Blue sky and fresh snow…with a little bit of cloud action.

Look at all the colors!

A special moment in time.

The green of the pines and the yellow of the forsythia buds next to the white shrouded birch trees was spectacular! I almost didn’t notice but mama pointed it out to me. She’s good like that.

But my feet were getting wet and cold and I was hungry. After all I’d only had one tiny treat and it was way past time for breakfast. So I made her take me inside. But that didn’t keep her from taking more pictures as the hungry birds stopped by for breakfast too.

Incoming chickadee!

I guess having a little spring snow isn’t all that bad, mostly because I know it will be gone by this afternoon.

Already melting.

And this weekend is shaping up to be warm and sunny. I’m going to get mama to take me to my park. Or maybe a couple parks.

A girl can hope anyway.

Waiting for summer.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. You’re right, it is beautiful. And the good thing about spring snow is that it doesn’t last long. They’ve removed the snow prediction from our weekend forecast, but Monday still has some flakes on it. We shall see.

    Like

  2. We didn’t get anywhere near what you got (thank goodness!!!) And….I agree with you Katie, why make you sit outside in the snow when you were JUST GROOMED? Moms, go figure!

    Like

  3. The snow is so pretty when it stays on the trees like that- but who wants snow in April???

    Like

  4. Snow! Holy snowflakes
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  5. Katie–you are one funny girl! What a hilarious post! And you running with our eyes closed—well, talented doesn’t even begin to describe you.

    Like

  6. All the pictures are wonderful but the running for joy picture is a stand out, Katie! It is what dogs are all about… pure joy! I can’t believe you got all that snow. Makes for some beautiful pictures. The last picture… love it.

    Like

  7. We love a snow that is beautiful crisp and clean in the morning and is gone by noon. The way it stuck to your trees is a photographers dream. Your pictures would be great for the December month on a calendar. Thanks for stopping by our blog. When I got assaulted Sweet William was my hero, I wrote in a prior post how he kept coming back each time I was kicked and grabbing the man clothes and tugging on them to get him off me. He is my little hero.
    Sweet William The Scot

    Like

  8. Love the photo of the snow melting on the twig! I agree spring snows are nice because you get pretty, and then it quickly goes away. Though thankfully March is usually the latest we get snow here and that’s pretty rare.

    Like

    • Spring snows are fun, especially since I don’t have to drive to work in them any more. It’s been sunny and warm ever since the snow fell, all green and spring liken now. I hope that was the last of the snow. But you can never be sure around here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

