Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Spring redux

21 Comments

Spring. It happens in waves across the country. When Katie and I were in the South we saw spring in all it’s glory. We reveled in the sun and warmth. We forgot that it wasn’t spring everywhere.

One reason to be in the South in the winter.

And then we drove home, north into the gray skies, leafless trees, muddy trails. Cold. It snowed this week.

Why is it snowing??

It was a shock, but all is not lost. As Katie and I explored the yard this past weekend we found traces of spring. Daffodils are popping up from the wet cold ground. So are some of the perennials. The bleeding heart is reaching for the sky.

Purple pink sprouts pushing up through last garden debris.

It will be in bloom sooner than you think. And the monkshood is peeking out too….

Monkshood, excited to see the sun.

..it will bloom next fall — which will also be sooner than we think.

Katie and I went for a walk in her park this weekend. The sun was out, the water was blue. It felt like spring had arrived.

Mama! Is it spring now??

We weren’t fooled. We know, here in Michigan, that winter will take at least one more swipe at us before April ends. But don’t tell that to the goldfinches, they’re already changing into their summer gold.

Hey lady! This feeder needs to be filled!!

Katie and I are very lucky this year. We get to watch spring arrive twice! The daffodils are all done down South. But here they will be arriving any day now.

That’s a very good thing.

You’re going to make me pose with our Michigan daffodils next week aren’t you mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Spring redux

  1. Our goldfinches are also getting their bright summer colors. I filled the thistle seed feeder the other day, and I see they have it half gone already. Now I’m trying to remember when the hummingbirds start to show up, so I can get food out for them too.

    Like

  2. double one season – can’t beat that – so when you coming back again 🙂 🙂 🙂 There are sunrises and sunsets just waiting for you

    Like

  3. It is a lucky thing to enjoy the double spring! Katie is looking lovely and the water looks great. It is true what you say about fall… time seems to fly!

    Like

  4. How nice that you get to experience Spring two times — I think that might be the BEST season to enjoy a do-over!

    Like

  5. In our travels in the last few weeks I’ve had everything from 98 degrees to snow, wind and low 20’s…and we didn’t go very far! From my Michigan days I remember snow storms on April 15!

    Like

  6. That is always the nice part about moving from a place where spring as started to a place where it somewhat behind. You get a chance to experience spring twice. I have done it a couple of times, and I really love it.

    Like

  7. Daffodills are pawsome. Glad u get to see them twice

    Like

  8. I always love visiting a place farther south in the spring. It’s such a nice reprieve, and reminds you what’s coming – even if you have to wait. I think we’re going to miss much of the snow, but we’re in for some fierce winds. Meanwhile, the sun came out for a bit yesterday, just long enough to encourage the crocuses to open. They closed shortly after, and have stayed shut since. Still, spring is coming!

    Like

    • It’s coming eventually. But we’re getting snow tomorrow so they say. I’m sure not much. But then again I remember April blizzards…so we’ll see. I want warm!! I’m done with snow.

      I’m going to be in Northport for 3 days in May, cat sitting. I’m hoping to go down toward Empire on my drive home…looking for suggestions as to where to park and walk to find something interesting to photograph. Thanks for any suggestions.

      Liked by 1 person

      • There’s so much near Empire! I recommend taking M109 (I think) toward the Dunes instead of M22 when you get to Glen Arbor. There’s a beautiful red cannery building that sits on the lakeshore that you can’t miss, and some old pilings that are sometimes visible right there.
        As you take M109 away from the cannery, there’s the iconic DH Day barns. Beautiful white structures – you’ll love them. If you have the time, consider a spin around the Dune Drive. If the gate is attended, this will cost you though.
        Then you’ll be back on M22. Watch for Voice Rd to your right shortly after you turn on M22. (Oh yeah – in May there’s a red barn on the left that has a giant forsythia. I bet you’ll love that, too.) Voice Rd will take you toward Empire, but first, hang a right as the pavement picks up. Take that road all the way back to North Bar Lake. It’s a small lake (that you can see from the Dune Drive) that is currently connected to Lake Michigan. I love this spot. The lake is protected by some bluffs, so it’s often reflective.
        The beach in Empire is lovely.
        If you’re up for a hike (~1.5 miles round trip), you can stop at Wilco Rd just south of Empire and hike out to Empire Bluffs. The woods there is beautiful, and the view at the end is sweeping and stunning.
        And last in the Empire area…stop at Esch Beach. You’ll take Esch Rd (a bumpy mess) all the way to its end. You could park there, but I recommend taking the park road to the left. It’s in terrible condition, but my car has no trouble at all if I go slow. Park on the other side of the bridge and then take the path to the beach. This is where Otter Creek spills out, and it’s one of my favorite places. (Actually, check with me about this again in May. With these winds, it’s likely that the creek will be taking an entirely different route after today.)

        Like

        • Wow! So much, maybe I’ll have to stop there on the way up AND on the way down! I always knew there were beautiful places there but I couldn’t find them. Thank you so much for the tips!

          Liked by 1 person

  9. Our daffodils and cherry trees are blooming right now. So pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

