Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Reboot

22 Comments

We’ve been home one whole day, moving swiftly into day two and I’m trying to get my bearings. Cupboard doors swing the opposite way of those at the lake house, the dishwasher stacks differently, I turn the wrong way headed to the laundry. I forget what I’m doing in the middle of doing it. I think part of me is still in the South; hence the random photos of our trip in this post.

Katie seems to have settled back into home life easier than me.

Neighborhood dog at the lake. Don’t know his name.

I sort through piles of paper; brochures from places we visited, lists of items to take, maps, advertisements. I come across a page, torn from a notebook, that I don’t recognize. But it’s my handwriting, obviously quotes from something I was reading. I don’t remember writing these down, I don’t know where they came from, don’t know who I was quoting.

But they seem pertinent in a general sort of way.

Beautiful tree near Jacksonville Florida.

I think this paper must have been in the car or on a table prior to the most recent pile of travel debris being deposited. I think maybe I wrote these down after the election, when I was feeling frustrated and fearful. Not that I’m less frustrated or fearful now, just more accepting of what is.

Or maybe not.

Beautiful birds at the Jacksonville Zoo.

Regardless the quotes will serve me well when I write my next post about an upcoming trip to Washington. Yes, the truck lady will emerge once more as there is work to be done, lives to be saved, families to comfort.

Playing with my girl on the beach.

The work doesn’t end just because a person takes a break. Nothing is resolved and everything is still important. The strategy may have to be adjusted, tweaked, but the end goal is still saving lives. It’s even more important now that the trucking industry has the Persident’s ear.

Stay tuned.

Another favorite lake.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Reboot

  1. You’re so right — nothing ends. After a vacation, I feel overwhelmed with all that is greeting me. Best of luck for getting adjusted. And watch how your dog does it — she takes naps!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been taking naps since I got home too. Katie and I nap together and then we roam the house together in the middle of the night because we’re not sleepy. We both will adjust eventually.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Life is full of adjustments, isn’t it? Coming home is always good, but getting back into the swing of “normalcy” is not always easy. As to having the president’s ear, it seems all the wrong people have it.

    Like

    • Nothing is normal these days. Home feels odd, being on the road was getting tiring. We’re headed out again in a few weeks. I agree all the wrong people have his ear. We are up against a huge wall this time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah going back to work is hard, I find that even when I’ve been out of the office for meetings or conferences; after vacations the adjustments are doubly hard. Oh well, I’m nearing retirement, June 2019 for me.

    Like

    • I’m lucky enough to be retired now. I retired June 2015 and it’s been wonderful. But I was gone so long this trip that being back home feels odd. And I need to immerse myself in a group I volunteer for ahead of a conference we’re doing. So for a little bit I guess it will seem like work, though to be honest this work is much more important than the work I did in my career.

      Like

  4. Need a vacation after vac
    Lily & Edward

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That adjustment back to “real life” is always challenging. But as you said the work still needs to be done. Love the photo of you and Katie on the beach

    Like

    • We’ve been home 3 days or more now…and have adjusted back to being sloths, Katie and I. It’s raining, so a perfect excuse for sleeping all day. I need to move but probably won’t.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It sounds as if your molecules are still settling back into place after being “beamed up” to your home.

    Like

  7. Yes, it’s true. Life goes on no matter how we’re feeling. It is a little harder after being away to get back into the grind of things. It looks and sounds like you had a wonderful holiday, one that strengthened you for things to come. 🙂

    Like

  8. Sure do miss you guys – loved having someone to cook for and go exploring with 🙂

    Like

    • And we loved your cooking and the exploring! I hope your weather is better than ours. We’re in the 30s and it’s sleeting and raining and sometimes snowing.

      Like

  9. Isn’t it “fun” coming home from vacation and realizing that you needed more vacation??! I sympathize, really. Just know that eventually, your mind and body will settle back into the routine that now feels so foreign to you.

    Like

  10. Pawsome birds in the picture

    Like

  11. Dawn,
    I love how you are using your crisis for meaning.
    And LoooooooooooOVE your fur baby! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

