Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Home is where the sheltie girl lives

21 Comments

Let’s follow that road mama!


Katie here with the last post of my big adventure. Mama did the math (cause my toes don’t work very well on those little calculator keys) — we drove 5,842 miles! And I got to go on every one of ’em! You could say I am a well traveled sheltie-girl.

On our trip back up to Michigan I insisted on taking my dad to the Smoky Mountains. Mama and I visited there when we were stuck in Tennessee way back at the beginning of February. I took dad on my favorite path…

There’s a good smell over here dad!

…and posed with them on a mountain ridge. It was a fun day!

A nice lady took our picture.

Then I took him to see Cumberland Falls. Mama and I went there too, back in February, on a cold day when the spray from the falls was freezing all over the rocks. I had more fun this time when we got to walk around more…

Me and a bridge and the Cumberland River.

…and it wasn’t so darn cold out! The waterfall was huge and the river was full and beautiful.

I was getting tired of being picked up.

The rest of our trip turned out to be rainy and cold, so I didn’t have to put up with mama taking so many pictures. Now we’re home again and mama is doing laundry and cooking and stuff. I’m going to take a nap right after I post this.

I was such a good girl on this adventure. We were gone almost two whole months! I never complained once and was always interested in the new places we visited. I only barked a little bit at the hotels, and I let lots of people pet me. Even better I met lots of great dogs, especially Reilly and Denny in Florida. Mama, Dad and I had a really good time.

The life of luxury.

I’m absolutely positive mama can never top this adventure and I’m going to have to settle for tame visits to my park for awhile, though I know mama has some camping trips planned already.

I guess I better rest up!

Katie signing off for now.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Home is where the sheltie girl lives

  1. Katie is always so photogenic! What an amazing adventure you had.

    Like

  2. Now your mom and dad know you’re a good traveler, I bet you’ll get to go on more trips with them.

    Like

    • Maybe. She was very good, but we’re limited in where we can take her. She’ll definitely get to go back to the lake house next winter for a few weeks though. She liked it there, she thought of it as her own, which is understandable given she’s the princess.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a lot of miles and adventure! So lucky to have a family who takes you with them.

    Like

  4. you are a true adventure girl now – home will seem so boring

    Like

    • She spent most of today, her first full day home, outside in her big pen watching her yard. She seems very happy but not more happy than she was out at the lake, or at your place. She’s just a happy girl all around.

      Like

  5. Love the Smoky Mountains! We took a trip to Tennessee and stayed at the Monteagle Inn B&B. It was a lovely trip. So enjoyed the pictures in this post!

    Like

  6. What a pawesome time you had and it was so great to see your pawrents (your Dad!!! too!) in the photos. You can tell by the “smile” on your face that you had a pawesome time! DakotasDen

    Like

  7. Katie, you are so well-traveled! What a wonderful, long adventure you had with your pawrents! And you got back just in time to see spring all over again, right? Rest up, little one, for as soon as the weather warms up good, you’ll be off on another adventure!

    Like

    • Spring is holding off here in Michigan…though we’re in the 50s. Not much turning green here yet though. The trees are in bloom in the Carolinas and in TN and KY. So it’s headed up here slowly. And yes…as soon as it’s warm we’re off on a camping trip!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Those falls sure are pretty
    Snorts and a Woof,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  9. Katie, you are a lucky dog, and your folks are lucky to have you!

    Like

  10. What road warriors you girls have turned out to be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

