Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Perfect weather

21 Comments

Sometimes when you wake up in early morning darkness you go back to sleep. And other days, for some reason, you get up, pull the curtains back and check the sky.

Last week I got lucky.

img_9085

The sun was coming up over the hills behind me, just touching the house across the way as it sat under a big rolling cloud racing across the sky. The light was only like this for a moment. So brief I might have imagined it.

This morning I woke and caught a sliver of light through a crack in the blinds. It looked a bit gold, so I leaped out of bed and threw back the curtains.

Not gold, but just as rich.

img_9208_edited-1

“Those are Snaphappy Gal clouds!” I cried. (Go to her photography site, you’ll see she loves clouds!) Katie looked at me with held tilted as I raced outside with my camera.

And then the sky turned into a van Gogh right before my eyes.

Which way does the wind blow?

Which way does the wind blow?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Perfect weather

  1. Two beautiful clicks… the clouds are a treat!

    Like

  2. Love this time of year when there’s more daylight and beauty to enjoy — thanks for sharing some of your skies!

    Like

  3. What a gorgeous view you have behind you. I love clouds too and your shots are great. 🙂

    Like

  4. Postcard perfect!
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  5. Love your descriptions of these beautiful photos as much as the photos themselves. Well done!

    Like

  6. I said “Van Gogh” and then you typed “Van Gogh”!

    Like

  7. love when the sky is filled with clouds like that. Just beautiful

    Like

  8. You are so right. Those are beautiful skies. Such lovely light from beneath.

    Like

  9. Ooooh! I love clouds like that. Beautiful skies, Dawn. So glad you didn’t go back to sleep. 🙂

    Like

    • Me too! Every morning I get up and open the curtains and check the sky. Most of the time it’s boring. All blue…or all grey. But these two mornings made me grab the camera and run outside.

      Like

  10. You are right about those clouds! Incredible texture! I think I like that dramatic light even more 🙂 We are super windy and snowy here today. If I thought I could keep a lens clean, I might go take pictures. I suspect tomorrow will be the day!

    Like

    • Have fun today catching that snow! We have sunny skies and who knows how warm it will get. Cooler than yesterday’s 80 though, as a front went through overnight. But still. No snow to speak of here.

      Like

  11. I have this thing about clouds too especially when there are a lot of them in the sky. It is like I can not get enough of them. Wonderful pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

