Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The princess and a boat

21 Comments

At my uncle's house.

At my uncle’s house.

Katie here. Guess what, guess what GUESS WHAT?

This is my bench, but I'll share.

This is my bench, but I’ll share.

I got to go on a boat ride!!!! My mama was all nervous and stuff cause she has no faith in me at all. She didn’t think I’d like being in a boat. She thought I’d be afraid of the sound of the engine. She thought I’d be shaking like a leaf and want to get out. She thought it would be a very short boat ride.

She (once again) underestimated me.

So let me tell you all about it. We drove over to my Uncle’s house on another lake. I thought this was gonna be another drive all day sort of thing and I protested about half an hour into the trip, but mama told me we were almost there, so I settled back down. She lied of course – it was another half hour before we got there. And then there were all new smells to sniff and I liked it right away.

Me and mama smiling.

Me and mama smiling.

Then mama and my uncle discussed going on a boat ride and decided to see if I liked it. They agreed to drive real slow and if I wasn’t comfortable they’d just go back. The entire focus was on whether or not I’d enjoy it.

What do you think?

Relaxed on my yacht.

Relaxed on my yacht.

I thought it was the best thing since cheese! I got to sit on my princess bench between mama and my aunt. And I got to sniff the air a lot. And watch the water go by at the back of the boat. I didn’t shake one little bit. Sometimes I even smiled.

And once I almost fell asleep! Can you believe that?

Lulled to sleep by the engine vibration.

Lulled to sleep by the engine vibration.

My uncle drove us way up the river, so most of our trip was pretty slow but I liked the fast stuff too. Once, on our way home we were going fast into the wind and mama and I both had a bad hair day!

Matching crazy hair mama!

Matching crazy hair mama!

But all in all I thought this was a most excellent adventure. We’re back at our own lake house now, and I have been all wound up, wanting to play with the toy that Mr. Reilly gave me, and wanting mama to pay attention to me and wanting my dinner, and wanting to go outside and not wanting to come back inside. Mama is exhausted. So to give her a break I’m gonna take a little nap now.

I expect more adventures tomorrow mama! I hear the uncle and aunt are coming over here and I’ll get to show them around.

Can’t wait!

Captain princess.

Captain princess.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “The princess and a boat

  1. Never underestimate a princess!

    Like

  2. That’s so cool, Princess Katie!

    Like

  3. Katie–you were made to ride in a yacht! So cute.

    Like

  4. That is for sure an excellent adventure!!

    Like

  5. Wow! How exciting Katie! You’re going to have so many stories to tell your dad!

    Like

  6. Glad you enjoyed your boat ride, Katie. Love the windblown look on you.

    Like

  7. Katie so happy you proved your Mama wrong! Loved the photos and so glad you had a great time!

    Like

  8. oh oh – you are going to be so bored when you get home 🙂

    Like

  9. A boat ride? Oh, Katie, don’t say that too loud — poor Dallas has never been on a boat! I’m kinda like your mama, thinking he might not like it. But since you obviously did, perhaps he needs to hop on board, too?!

    Like

  10. You know I’d have to comment on the windswept hair picture. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

