Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Throwing plans out the window

27 Comments

We're in the mountains now.

We’re in the mountains now.

Katie here. Again. Apparently I have to do everything. Mama says she’s been too stressed to tell the story, and besides, I’m the princess, so it’s all about me. Right? Well not always, but anyway I’ll give you the short version of our latest adventure.

So this was day 2 of our great adventure. I’m in the car a lot, but today mama stopped at a couple parks to let me stretch my legs. Did you know that Kentucky has zero rest stops on I-75? ZERO! Who let that happen? How’s a princess supposed to..um…pee…and other stuff if there aren’t any rest stops?

That's a really big river mama!

That’s a really big river mama!

Anyway, because we couldn’t stop like we normally do, mama took me on a side trip to visit Cumberland Falls! It was way back in the woods, 15 miles of narrow winding road before we got there. But when we did it was all worth it!

You're buying me something at the gift store.  Right mama?

You’re buying me something at the gift store. Right mama?

We didn’t get to see the big falls really well because the lower observation decks were closed. But we got a little peak at them.

This looks very very cold.

This looks very very cold.

Mostly we walked along the rocky shore and enjoyed the blue green water and the bright blue sky.

This is a really big rock mama!

This is a really big rock mama!

What a perfect day! It was still cold, and mama was glad she was still wearing her winter coat and gloves, but I thought it was wonderful!

Awesome colors!

Awesome colors!

Of course stopping there put us behind schedule but mama wasn’t worried, who needs a schedule anyway? We were about 2 hours away from our hotel when something happened. Our car quit!

Well not exactly quit….but the power seemed to go right out of it and we were in the mountains of Tennessee! Mama pulled over and called Onstar who sent out a tow truck. The tow truck driver said I couldn’t ride in his truck so mama seat belted me in and I got to ride in the car on top of the tow truck!

Mama was worried I’d be scared, but I’m a big girl and did just fine. OK, I was awfully glad to see her when we arrived at the dealership and she got me out of the car. And I didn’t like the diesel engine on the tow truck at all!

But in the end the tow truck driver was really nice, and took us to a hotel that my daddy had found for us that takes dogs…and now mama and I are all snuggled up in a king size bed with a big TV and some books and we’re going to wait out the rest of the weekend right here.

Notice the lack of cars....cause we don't have one!

Notice the lack of cars….cause we don’t have one!

We’ll be just fine.

We even got to see a little of the sunset behind the hotel when I made mama take me out for the 5th time to check out the pee-mail. I didn’t want her to miss it.

Sunset on evening #1.

Sunset on evening #1.

I’m good like that.

Talk to you later…

Your adventure reporter Katie-girl.

Our room has a holly tree outside our front door!

Our room has a holly tree outside our front door!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “Throwing plans out the window

  1. So glad you have OnStar!

    Like

  2. Such beautiful photos but Oh my gosh! Glad you are tucked in safe and sound- OnStar sounds great! Hope the ride home is less eventful.

    Like

  3. So sorry to read this. So glad Katie….I mean, OnStar was able to help. I don’t have it but it sounds pretty darn amazing!

    Like

  4. Not he adventure you were striving for but so glad you are snuggled up together safely!

    Like

  5. Unplanned adventures are often the ones most worth repeating! Hotel sounds comfy.

    Like

    • Ok for one day…not thrilled to be here for too long. It’s cold here, and the door has a crack around it so we’re kind of chilly. Katie likes it cold though, so she’s all good.

      Like

  6. WOw, that park looks amazing!

    Sorry about your car. That really stinks. Fingers crossed that its an easy (and quick) fix so you girls can get back on your way.

    Like

  7. I think I’ve been to Cumberland Falls State Park. It sure looks familiar. Beautiful photos. I hope your unplanned adventure leads to lots of fun and beautiful sights. So glad you have Onstar.

    Like

    • I would like to go back in the summer when the lower observation deck is open. I can’t tell from the top how big the falls really are. The river certainly is pretty. I’m glad we have Onstar too!!!!!!

      Like

  8. Gorgeous photos but we worry about you if your Daddy isn’t there. Mom and you shouldn’t be in strange parks alone! Sorry xoxo

    Like

  9. Do you full time camp

    Like

  10. what do you have to do to leave a comment

    Like

  11. Katie, you’re SUCH a brave girl! Dallas would have been frightened, I’m sure, at riding atop the tow truck (and I’d have been a nervous wreck!) Wonder why you couldn’t ride in the cab with your mama??

    Beautiful photos — looks like this will be an excellent adventure … once you get your car back and can keep traveling!

    Like

    • Well I was something of a wreck to have her in the car without me, and on top of a truck too! BUT, she had her harness on and was attached to a short seat belt so I knew she wouldn’t be able to move around the car. And I could see her little ears bobbing when I looked back. Plus it was a really short ride. She was just fine.

      We’ll be glad to get our car back too.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve just recently found your blog. It looks like the park was beautiful and so is Katie. Hoping you are back on the road and the car issue was something simple.

    Like

    • The park was really pretty. I’d like to go back in the spring, but doubt I’ll be back there this year. The car is being repaired tomorrow, maybe into Wednesday. I guess it’s pretty complicated.

      Like

  13. Oh good grief! I’m catching up on all my mail now that I’m back. I’ve never been to Cumberland Falls. Looks like I need to! Katie was so brave, does she need me to sew her a cape? All super heroines need capes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

