Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Snow day

10 Comments

img_7101
You know the mid-winter dark evenings when you stay awake to watch the eleven o’clock news just to see what the weather will be for your morning commute? And you know it’s going to be snowing all night and into that commute. And you can’t sleep because you know you have to get up early, maybe shovel the driveway, and start the commute early, very early, in order to make sure you get to work on time. And that the commute is going to be terrible; slippery with poor visibility and indiscernible lane markings.

Yea. I remember those.

But one of the many joys of being retired is that you can go to bed early, even on snowy nights. (Oh who am I kidding, 9 p.m. is my normal go to bed time.) You can sleep soundly without a worry. You can wake up when you wake up and look out the window to see how much snow fell because you’re curious, not because you’re worried.

And then you can do this.

img_7094_edited-1

I know. I’m lucky.

I'm lucky too mama.

I’m lucky too mama.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Snow day

  1. Lucky? Maybe, but what I really believe is that you worked hard to earn this.

    Like

  2. Thankfully, we haven’t had a lot of snow thus far this winter. I’m not complaining. I’ll just look at your pictures of Katie and be grateful my Sheltie isn’t covered in icy snowballs (we’re fighting mud, which isn’t much better!)

    Like

  3. Snow, when you get to stay home is fantastic
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  4. Oh my yes! I was feeling the anxiety mount as you described the sleepless night dreading the morning commute. But no more! Wah-woo!

    Like

  5. On Friday night, my husband will ask if we are going to stay up late (he’s retired; I am not). That means until 9pm instead of our usual 8:30. 😀

    Like

  6. I love this. ❤ Looks like Katie and I react the same way when it comes to snow. Let's play!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

