Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

A little right music

17 Comments

Music fixes fragmented lives.

Music fixes fragmented lives.


I admit the past few months have been stressful and for lots of reasons. Campaigns and elections, elderly aunt and nursing homes, rotator cuff impingement and physical therapy. What’s missing?

Music! Music is what’s missing!

Our community band preformed the Christmas concert way back at the beginning of December, and then we were off until the kids at our local school district went back to school after the holidays. This year that wasn’t until January 9th, and the first Tuesday after that the schools were closed due to weather. So no rehearsal. And the Tuesday after that it snowed again, the schools closed again, and so again we didn’t rehearse.

To be honest, while I was dealing with everything else I was secretly glad we weren’t in rehearsal. What I didn’t realize was that I was missing those weekly infusions of music. I’d forgotten how music fixes things.

So this week we went back to work, a little worried about the extended delay in starting, a little worried about a concert approaching faster than we had planned. And guess what? We sounded pretty darn good. Sure there’s lots to work on, but still, the sound was big and round and full. People were smiling.

I have a feeling I wasn’t the only one glad to be playing with the group again. One of the pieces we’re working on is Undertow by John Mackey. If you’d like to smile a bit too, take a 5 minute break from your stressful life and take a listen to a band in Texas doing justice to the piece.

And then maybe let some other music help ease your personal angst. Check out your local high school; odds are there’s a concert scheduled near you. The young people there love to play or sing to a full house, so stop by and support them and you’ll feel some stress slide away.

Guaranteed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “A little right music

  1. What instrument do you play? I always wished I played something….alas, nothing.

    Like

  2. Playing.
    Together.
    In Harmony.

    Yes. Perfect antidote.
    Brilliant.
    Thank you.

    Like

    • I was surprised, but shouldn’t have been, how much better it made me feel. That’s happened to me before, but I had forgotten. And I’m so overly stressed now I just figured I’d be that way forever.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. So true. Music helps the soul
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  4. I am happy glad for you. Perhaps I’ll turn some music on today.

    Like

  5. My day isn’t complete (or very enjoyable!) without music. Might not be playing it, but I’m certainly listening to it, tapping my toes, pretend-conducting, and so forth!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for the reminder, Dawn. I need more music in my life, too. Maybe I’ll pick up that penny whistle I was trying to learn how to play. It’s been years. I think it would be a wonderful distraction. 🙂

    Like

  7. I like Christmas for music because it’s about the only time that I actually think about taking out some CDs and having them play as the background to my home life. I really liked it this year for some reason, so followed up with playing some non-Christmas music. Maybe I’ll do some more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

