Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Respect

31 Comments

Life in the woods goes on undeterred by politics.

Life in the woods goes on undeterred by politics.


Four years ago, or was it eight, I had lunch with a good friend. We’ve known each other for more than 40 years, adventured together decades ago, worked together, grieved together, laughed a lot. That kind of friend. But at that lunch we learned our politics were light years apart. I was surprised. So was she. By the end of lunch we had silently agreed to leave the politics out of our friendship, and it’s never come up again.

My philosophy, which I voiced then, was that you didn’t have to like the person, but you had to respect the office.

I had lots to reflect on.

There’s a lot to reflect on.

Yesterday the United States peacefully transferred power and, though I still believe in respecting the office, I’m having a hard time this time. I needed to settle, so instead of watching the inauguration I left home for the day and went to a place where I’ve always found peace.

Kensington Metro Park.

The world feels colorless.

The world feels colorless.

It was a dreary, soggy, grey day and few people were braving the raindrops and cold. I should have worn warmer and dryer shoes. And a hat. Still, the birds, always eager to great me, made me smile.

Thanks for coming by lady!

Thanks for coming by lady!

And there was color to be found if you looked for it.

Love the blues and greens.

Blue and green living together in harmony.

Even when the fog began to drift in and the cold made it’s way into my bones I didn’t leave. So much on my mind, I debated both sides of the argument I’ve watched unfold in the news and in my friends.

Only time will tell.

Only time will tell.

Can a man who has spoken such vile things, a man who apologizes for none of it, a man who essentially uses his wealth and celebrity to bully, can such a man lead the free world? Can he be my president?

Can't we learn to get along?

Can’t we learn to get along?

You don’t have to like the person, but you have to respect the office. Somehow that’s harder to do when your candidate didn’t win. I’m reminded by my more conservative friends that they quietly accepted a candidate they didn’t support for the past eight years.

Can I trust you lady?

Can I trust you lady?

Still…this president scares me.

On the other hand….respect the office.

I am more liberal than many of my friends and family, more conservative than others. Yet we all care about each other and I hope that will continue far into the future, beyond the term(s) of this president, beyond the terms of presidents to come.

Looking for a treat.

Looking for some resolution.

Today I will respect the office, but am mindful that there must be accountability. It’s early yet, but I reserve my right to respectfully, peacefully but loudly protest any actions that take away benefits and rights from members of my family, my friends, and even strangers that deserve the same respect I give the office.

I’ll respect the office Mr. President. But I think we all expect some respect in return.

Change is hard.

Thanks lady!

Thanks lady!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

31 thoughts on “Respect

  1. Even with no TV, I felt the recent campaign, election, and inauguration events have been extremely negative and as you say, vile. But recently, I saw a yard sign that said, “Turn off the TV and love thy neighbor.”
    Please, don’t get pulled into the negativity in the news. Yes, respect the office. Love thy neighbor. As our money says – “In God we trust.” I, for one, will be praying for our elected officials.

    Like

  2. I agree with you Dawn. I will respect the office but it is still hard to respect the man. I hope he will prove me wrong.

    Like

    • I hope he proves many of us wrong. Doesn’t seem like it so far, but it’s only day 2. He hasn’t had time to internalize hundreds of thousands of people marching across the world. If he truly makes decisions based on what he sees on the news maybe he’ll think a bit before he acts.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You nailed it with this line “…I reserve my right to respectfully, peacefully but loudly protest any actions that take away benefits and rights from members of my family, my friends, and even strangers that deserve the same respect I give the office.” I have turned off my tv and I refuse to listen to the radio news anymore. I will read the newspaper so that I can select what I want to read. Maybe I’m living in an echo chamber, but I need to have some control over world events and this filtering method works for me.

    Your photos are lovely. Proof that there is beauty even on somber days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Totally agree with you on respect the office. We watched the inauguration at work yesterday. I cringed at his speech; I cried at the good-byes to the Obamas. Gonna be hard to stand by and watch, but I shall.
    The photo of that squirrel stretched out on the tree stump is so darn cute.

    Like

    • I couldn’t watch. Haven’t read his speech yet, though I may just for context. I couldn’t watch the Obama goodbye either, would have cried for sure. I think we may have to do more than stand by and watch…I think we’ll need to be calling our Senators and Congress Members regularly to protest.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, of course, Dawn. We respect our country, its laws, its Constitution, and the offices to which we elect officials, including the office of president. For me, this time around, it’s much, much more than my “side” not winning. I read the transcript of the inaugural speech yesterday (was at work, don’t have TV, don’t get radio signal in my building) and the way I read it the new president managed to insult every previous president and every American teacher, and while he talked about people getting rich in government while jobs went overseas, I didn’t hear a word about corporate America, did you? My heart is with the women and men marching today. It’s going to take hard work, by all of us, but that’s what it’s always taken. Maybe the new president will figure that out and realize not even (“I alone”) he has a magic bullet.

    Your photographs are lovely, as always.

    Like

    • Oh I recognize it’s much more than just being on the losing side this time. The reason I’m so unsettled is because this particular man makes me so uncomfortable. I’m afraid he will undo generations of work in human rights. I’m afraid so many of the people that voted for him didn’t understand the depth of damage he could do to their own families. I’m afraid we will not be able to compete in the world because he will insult every other country and government out there. I’m, in general, afraid.

      Like

  6. Your philosophy is exactly the same as mine has been for many years – during the years I worked for men who held a position of some power, felt they were more than they were – but – they had the position that I had to respect. And so I did. However, this time – this time, I don’t know. I do, as P.J. Grath said, respect the country, its laws, its Constitution and the office to which we elect officials – but extending that respect to the people that occupy those offices – not yet. Respect must be earned, I think. It’s not a matter of being on the losing side – it’s a matter of trying to respect someone who is a bully, who changes his position every other day as it suits him and then denies he ever said what we all heard him say, who respects no one besides himself, not sure that’s doable. I have been on the opposite side of the winners many times before, but this time is so different. I will not go on, because I think I feel a blog post coming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree it will be difficult if not impossible to respect a bully. My only hope was that he would give that part of his personality up once he was in office. Doesn’t look like it though. Now I’m hoping he can learn, and that someone in his circle can reign him in. I doubt that too.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The People Wanted Change | Wanderings of an Elusive Mind

  8. Your last line about respecting the office and that people deserve respect too is classic, perfect and I could NOT agree more!

    Like

  9. So true. Mommy wasnt happy about the results of the election either. It is what it is. Gotta make due with it.

    Thats pawsome how u got those birds to eat from your hand. Wow

    Like

  10. I am just tired of ALL the negativity from both sides

    Like

  11. Your images are wonderful. I’ve been hanging out with the birds and squirrels, too. I feel a lot like you do, and also, as Carol wrote, I feel that respect has to be earned. I wish I could think positively about all this. Following the marches yesterday gave me the first inkling of hope I’ve had in a while. Maybe it’s time women ruled the world. 🙂

    Like

  12. How did you get those chickadees to eat out of your hand??? How wonderful! I have to say I have no respect for our 45th President nor for the party that helped get him elected. I think we are in serious trouble, especially when the only thing he can focus on is how the media made up the numbers of attendees at the inauguration. I much prefer to focus on nature, birds and attempting to get chickadees to eat out of my hand 🙂 Thanks for the beautiful images

    Like

    • He has a lot more that needs looking at besides the size of the crowds. Seems likes he needs to focus on that to make himself feel good. We’re past the campaign. He won. He needs to get to work.

      As for the birds, at this particular park, on these nature trails people have been feeding the birds (against the rules) for years…and they are trained now to come down and check to see if you brought them anything. The bravest are the chickadees and the titmice…then the small woodpeckers and the nuthatches. Cardinals and others watch enviously from the trees and come in after you leave for the leftovers.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. This was a really good post, Dawn – and a reminder to me that I like following blogs better than I like following FB posts. Much to think about.

    Like

    • Thanks Gerry. Yes…some of Facebook got a bit much…but it’s faster to see what’s going on if you go there…on the other hand I like blogs because you get to discuss something a bit more in depth if you want.

      Like

  14. Pingback: A Monday meander – breezes at dawn

  15. Beautiful, beautiful photos. Now that he’s had 10 days in office, it looks as bad as we feared in some ways, worse in others, maybe a tiny bit better in others. Hard not to see negative things when there are so many negative things. I have been staying away from Facebook a lot more because I just can’t handle it all, all of the time, although I do still feel that it’s part of my responsibility to a better world to read stuff sometimes and to say things sometimes. Love love love your photos, calming indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. So well worded. I’m with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

