Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

12 years ago today.

10 Comments

Dad's favorite place to be was on a boat.

Dad’s favorite place to be — on a boat.

I wasn’t going to write about this. That today is another anniversary of the semitruck crash that took our remaining parent.

Big brother

Big brother

But today I seem to be blocked and unable to write about anything else.

One of my favorite of his childhood pictures.

One of my favorites of his childhood pictures.

And so I will mark the day so that I can move forward. Not move on, because that implies that I leave him behind, but forward.

Young man growing up to be a dad.

Young man growing up to be a dad.

Today I am moving forward with him, and mom, always with me.

Merry Christmas you two.

Merry Christmas you two.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “12 years ago today.

  1. I think it’s good to tell the story. I know it’s good to look at the pictures and to remember the love that still flows among you, as real and eternal as the whole galaxy of stars.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your,parents were excellent people who instilled in you a love of travel and reading and music and cooking and a work ethic and compassion and, oh, so much more! May you feel their love forever! Watch birds today and your parents will wink at you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. that is beyond devastating…..simply tragic. I am so deeply, deeply sorry ((((hugs)))))

    Like

  4. There’s nothing at all wrong with you posting about what’s most in your heart. My sympathy again and again, Dawn.

    Like

  5. Such a sad anniversary for you, Dawn. I lost my own dad on Dec. 31, 2008, but I, too, miss him as if it happened yesterday. I hope looking at the pictures and remembering the good times will cheer you (let me know if that helps, okay, because I haven’t found much that eases the hurt). Moving forward is good; forgetting never will happen. Hugs to you.

    Like

  6. My heart goes out to you. Thanks for stopping by to wish Faith, Tony and I merry Christmas. The same to you and yours … and may 2017 be wonderful.

    Like

  7. May peace be with you and the ones you love. Dearly Departed Joe and I would have celebrated our anniversary on the 23rd. Moving forward is exactly right. Merry Christmas! ❤

    Like

  8. Your posting about your father allows us to think of him on this day even though we did not know him. Such an awful loss- I am so sorry .

    Like

  9. I believe it to be an honor to those we lost to always remember and celebrate their life and our memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

