Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Challenges and legs and ribbons oh my!

24 Comments

Katie here.

I told mama she couldn’t hoard our blog all to herself cause I had stuff to talk about and I know my loyal subjects get impatient if they aren’t kept up to date on my life. As a princess I have certain responsibilities to all of you and I won’t allow mama to get in the way!

Ahem.

So anyway, remember when I told you that mama and I had retired from competition? We were living the life of leisure, lounging around eating bon bons and camping, and going for long walks on the beach. Life was good.

Relaxing in retirement.

Relaxing in retirement.

And then the days got shorter and colder and mama said that I needed something to do since we wouldn’t be going on so many adventures! No more adventures mama? What are you talking about?

But you know what? It turned out just fine because she signed me up for school two times a week! As you all know I love school. People think it’s because I like to be challenged, but really it’s because I like the treats, and all the attention, and being called beautiful and stuff.

Don’t tell mama, I don’t want her to be disillusioned.

I’m going to nosework classes on Thursdays and rally classes on Tuesdays. It’s a blast. I especially like nosework. I mean, you’d think maybe a dog dreamed this game up. You just go into the ring, sniff a few boxes and stuff, tell your person when you find the scent and get a ton of treats! Really! You sniff a box, get a treat!

I absolutely love this game!

I pull mama into the ring at breakneck speed (OK, I usually zoom past the first 14 boxes, but I’m working on being more methodical) and run around like a crazy dog until my head swings around and I focus on one particular box and then I stare at my mama real intently until she figures out I’m trying to tell her “THIS IS IT MAMA!!!” and if I’m right…I get treats!

Hanging out in my crate.  Boring.

Hanging out in my crate. Boring.

So last weekend I went to my first nosework trial. Mama signed me up for two attempts. The first run was perfect, it took me all of 12 seconds to find the right box. Even mama was surprised! But the second run I was overconfident and told mama that two different boxes were the one, when in fact they were not. I was just anxious to get those treats you know, and mama fell for it. She says she learned a lot by that mistake, so it’s OK that we didn’t qualify on that leg. She says we’ll go back and learn some more.

And this weekend she and I went to a rally trial, the first one we’ve gone to in 4 years. We are competing in ‘excellent’ now, the top level, because I already got my title for ‘novice’ and ‘advanced.’ Mama was pretty nervous because most of the responsibility is on her.

She has to read the signs.

I could read them for her, but what would be the fun in that? Mostly I just sit when she says sit and down when she says down and think about following along with her in between. Unless I see something more interesting. Like a jump for example.

She signed us up for two runs this time too, she said she drove too far for us to only do this once, so I had to hang around for a few hours but that turned out to be OK because we met a new friend. This is Jade, she’s really friendly and really smart. Her mom is nice too.

Meet Jade!

Meet Jade!

Anyway, the first run I was a bit ditzy and wandered around a bunch and I think mama messed up on one sign, but we ended up with 90 out of 100 points and got 5th place, and mama just wanted to qualify so she was happy.

And our second run went even better. OK, not right at the beginning because I watched mama put my leash over to the left on a chair and after the judge lady said “Forward!” and we started out I decided to go over there and sniff out the situation. Cause why would mama put my leash over there? But mama called me back. Twice. And finally after an eternity (per mama) I got back in line and heeled my way around the course with her. We got a score of 98 and 2nd place, only 1 point behind our new friend Jade who got 1st place!

See my beautiful ribbon?

See my beautiful ribbon?

Jade and I each got a new toy!! We were all very excited.

So now I’m pretty worn out and need my princess nap, but I decided to stay up and tell you about my latest adventures instead. I know you’ll sleep better tonight knowing all is well in Katie’s world.

Mama’s going to sleep pretty good too. But don’t worry, I’ll be getting her up early tomorrow just like every day. I’m dependable like that.

Katie signing off for now. Hugs and kisses to all of you.

Mine mine mine!

Mine mine mine!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Challenges and legs and ribbons oh my!

  1. Katie you are not only a Princess you are a BRILLIANT Princess! (All Shelties are, right???) Well, I am brilliant, but I am a Sheltie-slacker BOL!!! I am not thrilled about other dogs so my Mom probably couldn’t enroll me in things like that. She has wanted to but hesitated because I didn’t even like Obedience Classes! I am a “home-schooled” Sheltie….does that mean I am a “Sweathog?” Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  2. I bet when you make your mama proud and happy you get even more treats and adventures, huh?

    Like

  3. She really is a very smart pup! Morgan says hi, and that she could never do such stuff! To be in a room with other dogs, nuh-uh!!

    Like

    • Katie says hi back to you and Morgan. She doesn’t particularly care about other dogs most of the time. And at these events all the dogs are super well behaved, so it all works out.

      Like

  4. Hey Katie, I hope your foot is better. You’ll be so busy going to school and practicing and competing, plus keeping your mom and dad straight — and then there are critters you have to watch for in the back yard, and this time of year the UPS truck might be in your neighborhood. Jimminie Crickets, you won’t even have time to think about licking.

    Like

  5. Good job Katie. I always enjoy hearing about your adventures.

    Like

  6. Congratulations Katie! We’ve been thinking about trying rally, it seems like a lot of detail so we are impressed!

    Like

  7. Congratulations on meeting the new challenges so successfully, Katie! Even it you only did it for the treats!

    Like

  8. how pawsome is that – two new classes to go, new friends, ribbons a toy and lots of treats – what could be better !

    Like

    • She says it was a pretty good day. Now today, on the other hand, is a total write-off. No adventures, no treats, nothing special. Mama is busy and she’s bored bored bored!

      Like

  9. Congratulations, Katie! Sounds like a fun time, especially with all the the treats. 🙂

    Like

  10. Katie, you and your mom are both superstars!

    Like

  11. Good girl Katie! I wish we had nosework trials around here. Not that I’d actually go to one, but I’d like the option!

    Like

    • That would be cool. Chewy might thing that was pretty fun too! Maybe even Oreo, cause you’re in the ring all by yourself and no one else is around….and if they are, they’re really quiet, so as not to give away where the prize is!

      Like

  12. Sooo glad the Princess has healed and is back in the ring! Sounds like she’s doing amazing things there, too — congrats on the ribbon, Katie-girl!

    Like

  13. Congratulations to both of you. To may have cursed yourself by going out and proving that there never a better time to challenge yourself than now. Proud of you two!

    Like

Leave a Reply

