Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Let the holidays begin!

22 Comments

Before the concert.

Before the concert.


For me the Christmas season doesn’t officially begin until after our community band plays it’s holiday concert, and this year this past Tuesday was the night. Unfortunately this week is also the week I’m struggling through an awful cold complete with a hacking cough — the kind that starts as a tickle in the back of your throat and builds until you’re practically gagging, tears streaming from your eyes.

Lovely image isn’t it.

I went to the dress rehearsal Monday night expecting to have to leave early, but I found that as I played I began to feel better. My head cleared, my chest felt lighter, the cough receded. I made it through rehearsal with only a few sips of water.

I figured I had it in the bag.

Tuesday I lounged around the house, sipping tea with honey, eating cough drops like candy. Drinking water, drinking water, drinking water. Sitting in the car outside the concert venue I got a tickle in my throat.

Well darn.

I coughed out there until I was pretty much coughed out, and, grabbing my cough drops, my bottled water, my instrument, music and Santa hat, I headed inside. I felt pretty good again.

Our concert began with a performance by a bell choir. They make beautiful but quiet holiday music. I sat in the audience, in the center of a row sucking cough drops and drinking water. Straining to only cough during applause between numbers.

Bell choir creating delicate music.

Bell choir creating delicate music.

And then it happened.

I felt the old familiar tickle in my throat. Oh no. Please don’t let this be one of those coughing jags. Please. I checked to my left…three people between me and the aisle. I checked to my right…two people sitting over there.

The piece on stage ended and applause started. I left my music and Santa hat on the floor, grabbed my instrument, put my head down, and, trying to muffle my coughs, ran down the row of seats and over the top of the two elderly people sitting in my way.

I stepped on the lady’s foot. She yelled “OWW!!” quite loudly. I hoped the applause was still going, I couldn’t tell over my own groans. I patted her on the shoulder and ran up the aisle and out into the hall. By then I could hardly see with the tears in my eyes as I continued to try not to cough.

In the ladies room I stopped trying to contain myself and just let go. Good thing no one else was in there! It took a long time, long enough for me to wonder if the bell choir was finished and we were up, but it didn’t really matter as I was in no shape to go public.

Eventually I crept back out of the ladies room, red faced and sweaty. Quietly I stood at the back of the hall, watching the bell choir finish it’s last piece. It was lovely. Peaceful. Christmas.

And then it was us. The big round majestic sounds of A Christmas Festival by Leroy Anderson filled the air. I breathed and played and filled my soul with the music of Christmas and it was good. No tickling in the back of my throat. No angst or fear of having to run and cough. Nothing but the sounds of the holidays filling up the space.

And Santa showed up to conduct our last piece.

Sleighride!

Sleighride!

A perfect ending to a perfect evening with only a slight detour into the ladies room that is best forgotten.

Happy Holidays everyone, from Katie and me. May your time be spent with family and friends, and may we all be healthy and happy going into the New Year.

Sing-a-long with Santa.

Sing-a-long with Santa.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Let the holidays begin!

  1. Happy Holidays to you! I’m hoping your cold/cough goes away quietly in the night and lets you enjoy those holidays.

    Like

  2. Woo-Hoo, you MADE it, Dawn!! Perhaps playing your clarinet is the key to getting rid of your cough and cold! Glad the concert went off without a hitch, and I hope that poor woman recovers from your stepping on her foot. Happy Happy Holidays to all of you — I guess you’re taking a wee break, right?!!

    Like

  3. Oh those coughing fits are miserable. I’m glad you got it out of your system just in the (Saint?) nick of time. Happy Holidays, Dawn. I hope you feel truly well soon.

    Like

  4. A Christmas miracle to get you through your performance. I hope that cold goes soon, Dawn. All the best.

    Like

  5. What a dramatic performance, Dawn! Stepping on the old lady’s foot! Just kidding. I know she had a wonderful time, enjoying the music, and she won’t remember your coughing at all.

    Like

  6. Oh Dawn, I know the feeling well. How brave you are to go to a public performance feeling that way. I hope you have some time to rest and heal now.

    Like

  7. Geez Louise! You pushed yourself hard!

    Like

  8. That seemed like some night to remember with those coughing fits. Glad you survived to write about it. Thought the lady who you stepped on her foot was gonna strangle you and your cough for a minute there.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the music of the season. I have a couple of concerts to attend this weekend. 🙂

    Like

  10. Happy Holidays Katie and Dawn! What a great way to kick off the season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

