Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Beating back the cold

5 Comments

I don’t always get sick after I fly, but if I do get sick it’s almost always after I fly. So I shouldn’t have been surprised when my throat began to get sore and I started to cough on Sunday afternoon, six days after landing back in Detroit.

It’s a bad week for me to be sick. Katie isn’t happy about it either. As I cough she barks. As I gasp for breath, tears running down my face, she barks harder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Emphasis on blue

The community band Christmas concert is tonight, we had our dress rehearsal last night. This Friday Katie and I have her first Rally trial after an absence of four years. We had our last doggie school prior to the trial this morning.

Sunday night, and most of Monday I considered cancelling all these events. No one wants someone sitting near them hacking her lungs out. Plus my head hurts and my eyes hurt, and my ribs hurt.

But I’m the librarian at the band, and I needed to organize music, so I went to rehearsal figuring I’d leave early. And a funny thing happened as I began to play. The tickle in my throat receded. The coughing subsided. The music poured over me like a salve, the music beating the cold back into the recesses of my memory. For a couple hours last night I felt pretty close to good.

That’s what music can do.

White holiday lights

White holiday lights

Today I’m drinking a ton of water, sucking down cough drops like candy, heating tea, taking cough medicine, and napping. Katie and I fit an abbreviated doggie school into our morning, but mostly I’m saving my strength for tonight’s concert.

Holiday tree

Holiday tree

I’m not foolish, I’ll have cough drops in my pocket and a bottle of water by my chair, but I’m thinking I’ll get through tonight just fine.

And our Rally trial in a couple of days? Well, Katie says she’s ready, and if I can get my head straight we might get a leg toward her title. If not, she’ll probably forgive me.

After all, her mama is beating back a cold.

Dripping lights

Dripping lights

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

5 thoughts on “Beating back the cold

  1. Not a fun time at all. Perhaps tonight the music will chase away all vestiges of that cold. I hope.

    Like

  2. you have luck like I do. I get sick nearly EVERY SINGLE TIME I fly…….no matter what I do! Please feel better soon!!!! Enjoy the music, tomorrow I am going to Hines Park with a girlfriend to see the lights, a much needed break!

    Like

  3. I hope all went well, and that you are feeling much better today. Music really is a soothing and curing balm. 🙂

    Like

  4. Such pretty Christmas lights! Hope all went well for your concert. I know what you mean about the sore throat thing. I typically get that mess as November rolls into December — not a good time at all to be under the weather. Sounds like the extra water and rest will restore you though!

    Like

  5. Ah, the lovely clean (so, not!) air in an airplane! I’m glad when you were at the concert that you probably felt better. I hope you were able to get enough rest afterward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

