Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Sheltie soaker

24 Comments

Katie here. I know, I know, you just heard from me, but that was back when I was thankful and right now I’m not feeling very thankful at all! Mama got home from her big Thanksgiving adventure and you’d think she’d be so happy to see me that we’d go to my park and celebrate.

But nooooo.

And it’s even worse! I have a little boo-boo on my front leg that I like to lick in the evenings when I’m bored. Mama and daddy keep telling me to stop and sometimes I do, sometimes I ignore them — it just depends how I feel about following directions. I am a princess you know.

They took me to two different vets and this last vet is going to do a little surgery on me soon to take it off. But meanwhile I keep licking it, and daddy noticed some pus coming out of it while mama was out of town. He called the vet and they gave me some medicine and told him to soak my leg in Epson salts.

Huh! Like that’s going to happen, right?

Well, now that mama is home they decided to try. First mama tried to train me to put my front leg into a big pot. She was giving me treats and saying ‘touch!’ Sure, I’d touch it with my nose but I’m not going to put my foot in that pot! She cooks in that thing, what is she thinking?

So I guess they decided to go big time. Tonight they filled the laundry room sink with warm water and salt and then they put me in it! All four legs!!!! With water up to my tummy!

This is not fair at all!

This is not fair at all!

I wanted out! I tried my darnedest but they were right there saying ‘no baby’ and pretending to pet me but really they were holding me down!

It was sheltie abuse!

After a little bit though I kind of thought that the warm water was nice and I sat down. I kept my ears flat and my eyes big, and I gave them a combination of the sheltie stink eye and pathetic poor baby eye…when I’d look at them at all. Mostly I just kept my head turned away.

I was mortified.

I had to sit in that warm water for ten whole minutes! Then daddy rinsed me off with more warm water. Geeze. I already went to the groomer last week! I don’t think I needed another bath!

After that mama lifted me out and bundled me up in a couple of big fluffy towels and I got rubbed all over. Don’t tell them but I sort of liked that part. Then I shook the rest of the water out of my fur all over her. I think she was more wet than me when we left the laundry room. Plus she had to clean up the floor. And the door and the cabinets and some of the walls.

I don't like being wet mama!

I don’t like being wet mama!

I looked pretty bedraggled when I finally got away from her, and I don’t know if I can forgive them. I’m making mama play a rousing game of piggy tonight to make up for getting me all wet.

And I think I deserve some treats while I'm drying out!!

And I think I deserve some treats while I’m drying out!!

She said something about the vet telling daddy to soak the boo boo every day for a week. I can tell you right now that tomorrow night is not going to go nearly as smoothly as tonight. Oh no. I know what’s up now people and I refuse to allow any sheltie soaking to occur ever again!

It’s war now! An Emsom salt war!

And you can bet on me to win. Shelties always win. And I’m a princess too so it’s guaranteed that this is not happening again.

Stay tuned.

Throw the pig mama!

Throw the pig mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Sheltie soaker

  1. oh poor Katie- hope your leg gets better soon! You do look very fluffy!

    Like

  2. Oh dear Katie — use the licktosis spot to get more attention and walks so you are not so bored. Be careful though, if you lick it too much you are gonna end up in a cone head. That would be unbecoming of a princess.

    Like

  3. Katie, it’s for your own good, you know. Your mama and dad want to take care of you and make you better, so you won’t have an ugly scar that mars your perfection.

    Like

  4. Poor Katie! I didn’t realize Trump would bring waterboarding back so quickly… 🙂

    Like

  5. Yikes, Katy, you poor little princess! What an unbecoming thing, to have to soak 10 minutes a day for a full week in the wintertime, no less! I’m sorry about your ouchie, but your mama and daddy are right, you know. STOP licking before they strap on the Cone of Shame!!

    Like

  6. Poor Katie – it is no fun have a sore leg and I understand completely about the whole foot soaking thing – when I had my foot done – Mom had to soak my foot twice a day in this gooey green solution – it was not fun and we did that for 6 whole weeks !! We hope what ever it is gets better soon

    Like

  7. Oh Katie that IS Sheltie abuse to the nth degree!!!! But….your parents mean well……..hoping your leg heals soon. Thank God we don’t have a laundry sink like you do! Hoping you get better soon! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  8. Poor Katie! I’m so sorry that you’ve a nasty bump on your foot and I hope the epsom water treatment helps and you don’t need it in no time. I usually soak Eva’s feet in apple cider vinegar mixed in warm water if her feet look funny.

    Like

  9. Oh poor Mama Katie, i think you’re being a bit mean to her. If you would just put your leg in a pot!
    I hope the soaking helps and the surgery and then hopefully you won’t have to soak again!

    Like

  10. just keep giving them the stink eye, after all you are the princess!

    Like

  11. Cole has taken to licking himself raw too. I have 100% success with the rigid plastic covers, but I find them to restricting for him. I’m using a soft sided cone now that doesn’t prevent all the licking but he has more mobility with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

