Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Chaos

22 Comments

New York City can be pretty chaotic. It’s a city that can chew you up and spit you out, and by the end of my ten day stay last July I was exhausted.

Near the end of our visit we rode the Staten Island Ferry over to the island and back. It was a relaxing trip, and I expected to get some nice night shots of the city.

But the vibration from the huge engine deep within the ship caused everything on board to vibrate too. Including me and my camera. So versions of this is what I got.

imported-photos-01682-cropped

I was disappointed, but didn’t delete all the blurry images. Some of them were kind of cool and I figured I’d find a use for them. And even if I didn’t, looking at these reminds me of the boat trip across the warm night water, of the floor vibrating beneath my feet, the rails shaking under my hand, the lights shimmering along the shore.

And I think this particular shot provides a beautiful and impressionistic image of the chaos that is New York City.

It’s early in this challenge, but here are a few of my favorite chaos entries so far.

You have time to play along, this challenge continues until next Friday. Look around. I bet each one of you has a bit of chaos in your life! Show it to us, it might reduce it to fun for a moment.

And that’s worth a lot.

Staten Island orange.

Staten Island orange.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Chaos

  1. Fun take on this one!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Chaos: Sky Way | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Love the colours, and the out of focus – albeit unintentional – really adds something to this photograph. Like you say, the memories of the trip and the feelings are all there for you when you look back at it, and to find a useful use for it by using it for this challenge is an added bonus 🙂

    Like

  4. Normally I would think ugh about pictures that turn out like this because they’re an unsightly mess. But this one is pretty cool. It is very impressionistic and I like the way the vibrations made little circles of the lights. Sometimes I hang on to photos that don’t turn out “right” for the same reasons you mentioned.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Chaos – WoollyMuses

  6. Yeah, I too keep such photos around for the memories. And sometimes (like now), they turn out useful as well! 😃

    Like

  7. Sometimes the curly ones are fun images such as in this case

    Like

  8. I like it. I think it shows off New York’s energy, And it certainly goes by in a blur when you are an occasional visitor!

    Like

  9. Sometimes those failures are not failures at all. This image tells a story, and it holds memories.

    Like

    • Yep. I was going through the shots from that trip thinking I’d find a crowd scene, or crazy traffic to use for ‘chaos.’ But I happened on this and it stopped me cold…and then I began to smile. Often that’s how I know something is ‘the one.’

      Liked by 1 person

  10. If (big if) I could paint, I’d love to paint your Impressionist photo of NYC. It’s awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

