Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Something about that sky

3 Comments

Many of you know that I love the photographic work of Snap Happy Gal. If you study her images you’ll note that the sky is often a big part of the picture; her clouds low and robust, the light always mesmerizing. I can spot her work on Facebook even before I check to see who posted.

Sky is a big deal to me too. So on my drive up to Northport yesterday I noticed when the heavy dark clouds rolled in as I navigated morning rush hour through Flint. And how they rolled and twisted as I reached the flat land near Bay City.

Farmland anticipates rain.

Farmland anticipates rain.

I couldn’t help myself. I had to get off the freeway and see what I could catch. I thought to myself as I drove the back roads – “This is a Snap Happy sky.”

There’s a big lake just past Grayling and it always catches my attention. This trip was no exception as the clouds kept rolling in. I had to stop.

Dark and stormy  Lake Margrethe

Dark and stormy Lake Margrethe

And so it was, and continues to be this morning, here on the big lake. Lake Michigan swells quietly beneath an ominous sky, caught between summer and autumn.

Summer leaves reluctantly.

Summer leaves reluctantly.

Living in a wide open space you can watch the weather approaching. It’s almost like watching it on radar, the way the clouds move across the water. But it’s better than radar because you can actually feel the changes — you’re surrounded, as if you’re sitting in the biggest 360 degree 3D movie theater in the world.

A clear blue sky would be boring.

A clear blue sky would be boring.

I think it’s possible we’ll have clouds for all three days of my visit. Some people might be sad at the lack of sun and blue sky.

Me? I’m thinking this is going to be cool!

Evening quiets.

Evening quiets.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

3 thoughts on “Something about that sky

  1. It’s the clouds that dance about in the sky – sometimes an elegant ballet, sometimes frenetic modern dances, but always putting on a show. Sometimes a cloudy day is just what a soul needs.

    Like

  2. Where I grew up it was flat and you could see out over the wheat and corn fields for miles, it always seemed like you could reach up and touch the sky it was that close.

    Like

  3. I must admit on my morning walks I have been loving seeing characters in the clouds – saw an old man smoking a pipe and the smoke coming from the pipe was in the perfect shape of a chine dragon

    Like

Leave a Reply

