Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Happy Birthday Brother!

7 Comments

Adventuring.

Adventuring.


Today’s your birthday, and I thought I’d take a moment to remember some of the fun stuff we did while growing up together.

Cute!

Cute!

You know…the swimming and skiing. Tree climbing and building forts. Chasing Sam the dog around the neighborhood when he worked himself off his leash. Planting the garden, mowing the grass, playing kick-the-can late into the evening.

Climbing a mountain.

Climbing a mountain.

Visiting the farm for a few days in the summer, playing with the barn cats, scratching pigs’ backs, driving the tractor. Seeing the country from the family camper, canoeing down rivers, climbing up mountains, crawling into kivas.

A boy and his dog.

A boy and his dog.

We had a lot of fun way back then…and lucky us, we’re still having a lot of fun when we get together these days! We’re even doing some of the same things! Well, not the kick-the-can. Guess we’re getting a little too old for that, but we’re still skiing and swimming and climbing mountains.

Catching some air.

Catching some air.

Have a wonderful birthday today! I wish we could all be together, but you know we’ll be thinking about you.

Happy Birthday brother!

Cooking together.

Cooking together.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Brother!

  1. Aw, this is so sweet — hope your brother has a wonderful birthday … and many more!

    Like

  2. Have I ever said that you write very well? You get right to the essence of things and phrase them in ways that draw us in. Nice sibling tribute.

    Like

  3. What a lovely tribute! Happy Birthday to Dawn’s brother!

    Like

Leave a Reply

