Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Food relationships unrelated

8 Comments

I suppose one of the downfalls of a vegan wantabe is learning what all this stuff is. At the beginning of the experiment I enthusiastically roamed a health food grocery store, buying this and that, scooping things into plastic bags, filling out the tags on the twist ties with product numbers so the cashier could ring them up. Odds are the cashiers didn’t need the numbers, but I should have written the names on the tags. For me.

Wonder what these are?

Wonder what these are?

Weeks later I know that the dark one is chia seeds but I don’t remember if those little white things were in there before or if they are…ummm…eggs? And the lighter brown I know is steel cut oatmeal that I keep meaning to try. But the medium brown? I went to my regular grocery store, located much closer to home than the natural store where these were purchased, and I think that brown stuff is ground flax. Maybe.

I visited Aunt Vi this week. She’ll be 101 at the end of September. She was feeling OK but not great. I took her homemade cream of broccoli soup because she loves brocolli. We laughed about how few people like the little green trees, including the first President Bush. I noted as I was leaving that she didn’t have anything sweet to eat. No cookies, no cake. No pie. She likes something sweet at night.

I believe a woman who is almost 101 deserves to have something sweet available. So this morning I got out the bowl and my grandmother’s spoon and made old fashioned molasses cookies, thinking about Aunt Vi and my own grandmother. I’ll take them to her this afternoon on my way down to that natural food store for more healthy stuff.

Yum.  Ginger and cloves and cinnamon.  And molasses.  Of course.

Yum. Ginger and cloves and cinnamon. And molasses. Of course.

And while I was making the cookies I reached into the silverware drawer for a smaller spoon, something to scoop a little sugar into a bowl to roll the cookies in before baking. My fingers closed around my mom’s spoon, one of several she had with a distinctive corn motif. They’re split up among all of us ‘kids’ now.

Hey Mom.

Hey Mom.

As I looked at the spoon I paused, the loss suddenly so overwhelming that breathing was all I could do. And then it was OK again and I finished rolling the cookies. They’re cooling now, getting ready to make a 101 year young lady smile tonight.

Food and relationships and memories all moving forward into my new world of unidentifiable ingredients. Food. It’s not just for eating. Sometimes it’s for reminiscing.
imported-photos-00298

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Food relationships unrelated

  1. We don’t have a health food store, but my grocery store has a decent sized section – what an adventure it was to explore those new names when I first starting eating healthier foods. It still is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t help you to ID those spice things, Dawn. Sorry! But I dearly love how thoughtful it is of you to make special sweet cookies for your aunt. Here’s hoping she has a wonderful birthday! As for your mom’s spoon … well, I’ve experienced that same shock over missing my dad. It still hurts, you know.

    Like

  3. The chia seeds are fine. They are supposed to have white things on them. The cookies look yummy. 101! Maybe I should eat more broccoli. 🙂

    The anniversary of my mother’s death was yesterday. The sadness comes and goes. Sending you hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice to be making something *for* family *with* something from family.
    Nice positioning of the spoon in the sugar. Like it.
    Would you mind posting or sending me the molasses cookie recipe? My mom used to make some and lost the recipe.

    Like

  5. I remember the spoon, the molasses cookies, the brown cabinets, the orange sink, the canisters, those spices up in the corner cabinet, the oven with the window, and Mom had the best cookie trays.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love going to health food stores around the country and discovering local, weird gems. I recently ate the best seaweed ever in Maine, can’t find that fresh in Alabama. Congratulations on your new culinary adventures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

