Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Celebrating summer…one last time

18 Comments

Katie here. Mama says you’re probably tired of reading about my adventures, but I say that’s ridiculous! Who could be tired of me? Though even I have to admit that I’ve had quite a few camping adventures this summer.

Our beautiful campsite.

Our beautiful campsite.

Mama and I have been to Harrisville, on Lake Huron, and Leelenau way up north, and we even camped close to home at the Holly Recreation Area just up the road. But I didn’t think that was enough. Oh no, not at all! So I begged mama to take me on one more far away adventure and she did!

Let's go mama!

Let’s go mama!

We went up to Hartwick Pines again! We went there two years ago, it was my very first real camping adventure, but the mosquitoes were so bad we spent most of the time hiding in our tent! And we were there a couple of winters ago when it was so cold that we could only run into the woods and back out again before my feet froze up!

But this time it was perfect! Hardly any mosquitoes and not too hot and not too cold! We struck the camping jackpot!

These ferns are taller than me!

These ferns are taller than me!

Do you want to see what we did? Well…follow me and I’ll give you a tour!

We got to explore the beautiful old forest that grows protected at the park. Our first day we walked in the woods on trails that are used for cross country skiing in the winter. These are the same trails mama and I walked on in that below zero temperature winter vacation. This time it was more fun.

Early morning run!

Early morning run!

Hartwick Pines is a beautiful park, with many campsites surrounded by birch and white pines, ferns and wildflowers. I liked to walk in between the sites on pine needle covered paths. Our first two nights hardly anyone else was there so mama and I explored the campground a lot. I liked the shorter walks and the good sniffing.

Asters and morning light at our campsite.

Asters and morning light at our campsite.

But we also went on longer walks, the prettiest one was a paved path back to a logging camp museum. Early in the morning mama and I wound through the old forest, between huge beautiful trees, and hidden way back in the woods was a pretty little log chapel!

Do you see it back there?

Do you see it back there?

We were there really early in the morning and the light just streamed through the window on the east side of the building.

The sun fills the inside of this beautiful little sanctuary.

The sun fills the inside of this beautiful little sanctuary.

Mama let me explore while she was busy taking pictures. Then she noticed that I was sitting in a pool of light. She said that God was shining His light on me because I was special…but then again all dogs are special so I shouldn’t let it go to my head. Of course not, I was just happy to be sharing such a special place with my mama.

Me and God.

Me and God.

Eventually we got back to the logging museum grounds. No one was around. Mama made me sit next to all this logging stuff.

This wheel is LOTS bigger than me!

This wheel is LOTS bigger than me!

I especially was not happy to sit in front of this big snow rolling thing. What if it moved and rolled over me? Sometimes mama doesn’t have any sense.

I don't want to sit here mama!

I don’t want to sit here mama!

I didn’t mind sitting near this guy though. I thought he was kind of cute, in a cold sort of way. He didn’t even want to pet me! I mean…what was the deal? Everyone wants to pet me!

Me and Mr. Logger-Guy.

Me and Mr. Logger-Guy.

In fact I met several people including a whole passel of kids that wanted to pet me and I let them all rub my ears and pat my back. I guess I’m finding out that most people are pretty nice and I don’t have to be so shy all the time. Plus I know my mama always has my back.

Definitely taller than me!

Definitely taller than me!

But you know one thing I did not like? Bluejays! We had a gang of them that hung around our campsite and they started squawking really early in the morning! They woke me up! Don’t they know I’m a princess and I need my beauty sleep! The only one allowed to wake anyone up around a campsite is me! It’s my job to get mama up early, and if I decide she can sleep in those stupid birds should let us all sleep! And do you know what else? When we came back from one of our walks through the beautiful woods one of them was on my picnic table stealing my dinner!

Stop that thief!

Stop that thief!

I was outraged! So I ate all my dinner up at one time just to show them! Huh! They better not come around again! I’m keeping my eye out bluejays! Anyway…what we did most on our camping trip was wander sedately through the big trees.

Everything is bigger than me in this woods!

Everything is bigger than me in this woods!

It was so beautiful. We hardly saw anyone else out there. I got to practice some of my obedience skills. Mama said I did very good. I reminded her that was because she didn’t forget the treats this time.

Good mama!

Good mama!

Mamas can be taught things even though they are old.

Anyway…we had a wonderful time. I love camping. Lots of napping while mama is reading. Lots of walks around the campground and in the woods. Lots of sniffing wonderful new stuff. I even like the car ride because we get to stop at rest stops and those always have great smells! I recommend camping to every dog!

Me and my tent.  And the sunlight.

Me and my tent. And the sunlight.

I don’t know if we’ll get to camp one more time this fall before it gets cold. I told mama not to put the tent away for the winter just yet. But she says camping is a lot of work and maybe this was our last adventure for awhile. I think I’m going to need all of you to put pressure on her to take me again just one more time before it snows.

I know I can count on all of you, my loyal subjects, to let her know that it’s too soon to pack the camping gear away! I’ll rest up while you get to work.

zzzzzzz....

zzzzzzz….

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Celebrating summer…one last time

  1. Saved the best adventure for the last – what an awesome camping trip and awesome photos

    Like

    • It WAS an awesome camping trip, and it didn’t rain on us! Every other time we’ve been out camping this summer we’ve had one day with pouring rain. I even took a raincoat with me this time, even though no rain was forecast. Because it always rains on us.

      Like

  2. All the photos are better because the princess is in them. 🙂

    Like

  3. You do look lovely out there in the wilderness, Katie. You have been very lucky with all your camping trips this summer, but it might be cooling down too much for more trips – your mama doesn’t want you to get a chill, you know.

    Like

  4. What a lovely adventure you’ve had this time, Princess Katie! And I so enjoyed seeing your photos, especially the ones in the chapel. Yes, I do believe you and your mama need to take at least one more camping trip before the winter’s snows roll in. Perhaps you need to travel south a ways, where it might be warmer longer??

    Like

  5. Katie, you must get Mama to take you when the leaves are turning. Your fur colors will be perfect with the fall colors as a background.

    Keep on writing and we will keep reading

    Like

    • She DOES look beautiful in a fall woodland setting. The trees compliment her natural beauty, and she enjoys the coolness in the air. We might not sleep outside for that though…an adventure in a hotel might be just the ticket.

      Like

  6. Thanks for the tour, Katie! Come on, Human Mom, it’s barely even Labor Day weekend! Surely there’s room for one more camping trip! I’m sure she loves hauling that tent and sleeping bag around and setting them up and taking them down and all of that.

    Like

  7. Love the action shot of Katie running! So cute!

    Like

    • She loves to do that. You can see her grinning through the entire run. I put the camera on sports setting and just hold the shutter down. There’s almost always one shot that is really cute. Sometimes several.

      Like

  8. Looks like y’all had a good time. Great pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

