Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Happy Birthday Mom

6 Comments

At Gulf Shores AL

At Gulf Shores AL

Your birthday snuck up on me again this year. I used to know it was coming, used to shop for the perfect card to send, used to plan exactly which day to drop it in the mail so that it arrived on your day.

Used to.

Now I’m more likely to realize it’s August 11 when I hear on the news about the Perseid meteor showers which always lit up the sky on your birthday. Like your own personal fireworks.

Happy 88th birthday Mom. It’s been twelve years since I’ve mailed a card to you. But I’m sure you know that we’re thinking about you on this and every day. I bet you knew we were all together last week at the home you and Dad built. We had a good time at the lake.

But it would have been better if you’d both been there too.

High School Senior

High School Senior

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom

  1. Oh my gosh, you look so much like her! Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amen. May your day be filled with wonderful memories. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the part about the meteor shower being your mom’s personal fireworks! Losing a parent just doesn’t get any easier, does it? At least there’s comfort in knowing she’s looking down on you and smiling! Hugs to you, friend.

    Like

  4. the good things with memories is they are always with us 🙂

    Like

  5. (((hugs)))) the photos are marvelous and your sentiment so beautiful.

    Like

  6. Missing her means your love for her is still alive — and so, she is, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

