Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Just a walk in the park

16 Comments

I'm at my park!

I’m at my park!


Katie here. It’s been forever since I’ve been able to blog. Mama has been hogging it with all her travel adventures, which by the way, she did not take me on. Just to point out the inequities here. But she flew back home on Friday and this morning she said that it was such a pretty day she’d like me to take her to my park!

Well! You know how I love my park. So I barked and jumped around her ankles until she got moving toward the car! Heavens, I haven’t been to my park in a long time! Mama says it was only the month of July, because she was gone, but in dog years the month of July is a bajillion years!

If you have a treat I'll sit!

If you have a treat I’ll sit!

I had so much to catch up on that I stopped a whole lot along the walk. I had to smell everything! And leave pee-mail for my dog friends. Everywhere. After a long time my mama said, “Come on now Katie-girl, you don’t have to pee on everything. Everyone will know you were here. After all, it’s YOUR park!”

Mama was sort of sad because the only flowers left out there were queen annes lace and (oh no!) goldenrod! She says the summer is slipping away and she can’t figure out how to hold on to it. I told her that the reason the summer was going by so fast was because she’s spent most of it somewhere else! And that she needed to spend the rest of it with me. Me me me me me.

Late summer flower.

Late summer flower.

But anyway.

The best part of my walk this morning was that I met a new friend! A little girl and her mom and baby brother were out walking in my park! I was resting in some shade when they showed up. The little girl was so beautiful! And she asked the right questions before she came up to me. She asked if it was OK to let me sniff her hand, and then she asked if I liked to be petted!

Only a little of this still in bloom.

Only a little of this still in bloom.

Mama told her that she asked exactly the right questions and that it was always important to ask the doggie’s mom or dad first. And that if she petted me on my side I’d like it better than on my head. Mama says she was hoping I wouldn’t back up and shy away, cause I break little kids hearts like that all the time. But I was thinking my mama should just quit talking and let the little girl pet me!

And you know what the little girl said as I was lying down and letting her pet me on my soft fur? She said I looked just like a princess! Isn’t that cool! She knew I was a princess! I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, everyone should know I’m a princess, it’s perfectly obvious.

Mama told her she was right, I was a princess! And that we had named the park after me. She smiled and asked if she could get a picture with me. I guess she knows royalty when she sees it! So I sat on a bench and let mama take a picture of the two of us. Mama is going to email it to her mom.

I was having so much fun I didn't even notice this guy.  Do you see him?

I was having so much fun I didn’t even notice this guy. Do you see him?

It was special and I’m glad I met her. She is a very nice little girl, a princess herself I think. I hope we meet her again some day at my park.

I had a wonderful time and now I’m hogging all the air conditioning in my living room by sleeping on the vent. I’m so glad my mama is home. She says we’re going on a walk with my friend Deuce tomorrow night! It’s about time she gave me the attention I deserve.

Natives and invasive mixed together, on our way out of the park.

Natives and invasive mixed together, on our way out of the park.

I hope you all are having a wonderful summer too. And that you all have an air conditioning vent to nap on.

When are we going back to the park mama?

When are we going back to the park mama?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Just a walk in the park

  1. Katie what a lovely walk and that little girl sure is smart! It’s nice when children ask to pet a dog in the right way. I sometimes back up too when little ones want to pet me. Your park looked so nice that I think I might ask to go to my park soon!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota DakotasDen

    Like

  2. It’s about time your mom remembered that you are THE princess, and, as such, you deserve far more attention than you’ve been getting. Isn’t it nice when you meet polite little people who treat you with the respect you deserve? I’m glad you got your time at your park.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed the walk, Katie. Thank you. The mix of flowers in the meadow are almost as pretty as you. 🙂

    Like

  4. As a bark ranger – you have to keep up your park patrols and make sure all is well

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Katie of course you had to pee on everything! Good girl 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh, Katie, you sound just like Dallas! He, too, prefers side-petting rather than head pats; he, too, hogs the A/C vents all over the house; he, too, misses mama when she has to be away. Nice that you met another princess, though princesses who own parks are extra-special!!

    Like

  7. Mom is lucky you did not post an ad for Assitant Wanted!!
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. I love the picture of you smiling in your park Katie! And nestled amid the royal Queen Anne’s Lace, no less 🙂
    Sounds like a sweet and smart little girl. I’m glad she said hello.

    Like

Leave a Reply

