Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Lunch with Mom

10 Comments

Home

Home

I want to go to lunch with my mom. Just a casual lunch, no earth shattering things to talk about. Maybe in a little coffee shop after a day of shopping.

But we weren’t like that. We rarely shopped together, neither of us were really into it. We didn’t meet for lunch at little coffee shops, though she made all of us lunch thousands of times at home. No, we weren’t the stereotypical mother/daughter. Plus she lived in Alabama. I lived in Michigan. Each visit I made was a big deal, a family reunion. Something she’d plan for weeks.

An event.

The hellos were wonderful, full of anticipation of time spent on the lake or around the table, all of us together. The goodbyes were heart wrenching, never knowing how long until the next reunion.

I want to go to lunch with my mom. Just a casual lunch, nothing special. I want to talk about her ducks and my dog. Her garden and mine.

Sometimes at night I look at the sky, stare at the stars and ask her to please come home. Please. But I know she is home now, and there aren’t any flights that leave there.

I’m here and she’s there.

Someday I’ll have lunch with my mom. It probably won’t be a casual meal because it will be a pretty special reunion. An event. For now I guess I’ll go make a sandwich and talk to her in my head. About her ducks and my dog. What’s in her garden today, and the tomatoes in mine.

You know – just casual stuff.

Her lake.

Her lake.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Lunch with Mom

  1. This was simply exquisite ((((hugs))))

    Like

  2. Heart-wrenching, Dawn, and makes me grateful that I still have my mom here to have lunch with!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww, such a beautiful post. Your mom surely enjoyed reading it (or feeling your heart’s love) and is smiling at you. So I am thinking the lake house is in Alabama?? Hugs and good memories…

    Like

  4. Dawn, I talk to my grandma and to friends who have been gone for years. Sometimes they come to me in my dreams, and that’s always wonderful. Even when the meeting is “nothing special,” it’s special. So I know what you mean.

    Like

  5. I miss my mom too. I miss laughing together on the phone. I miss little notes and all-too-rare visits between Michigan and California. And yet she is still with me. Sometimes I think – I hope – that she walks with me under the pines, and knows that the love is still there. We could go get an ice cream sundae . . .

    Like

  6. Hugs.

    So true, no flights leave from heaven. Never thought of it that way before.

    Like

  7. You know – I don’t think my Mom ever went to a restaurant – it just wasn’t her thing

    Like

  8. What a beautiful post, Dawn. I am blessed to still have my mom around and spent last week with her. Even though her memory is slipping we still managed to have some laughs and good conversation. I cherish those as I know those won’t last forever and I will be talking to her just like you are talking to your mom now. Hugs.

    Like

  9. It must be so bitterweet to go to the lake, so filled with memories.
    It does seem to be the casual stuff that we miss. I’m glad you are able to talk to her in your head at least even though you don’t get to visit with her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

