Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Rolling down the river

12 Comments

I arrived in the South on Tuesday afternoon. On Wednesday my brother, sister and I kayaked down the Chattahoochee River for several hours. What a fun trip!

Floating on the gentle river waters.

Floating on the gentle river waters.

I’ve thought for a long time that I’d like to have a kayak. I’d even toyed with looking for one to buy while I’m down here to store at the house and use during trips to the lake.

Such form there!

Such form there!

My brother has a friend that rents them, so he arranged to pick up three of them just because I was here. We packed some fruit and water in a little cooler and headed out to the river! It was a beautiful day.

Beautiful day.  Beautiful river.

Beautiful day. Beautiful river.

We didn’t go a long distance, we took a relaxing float down the river, and only had to maneuver between rocks a few times. It was a good time for me to try different kayaks in an attempt to decide what kind I might want to buy.

Taking a little snack break.

Taking a little snack break.

I can’t claim to be an expert kayak paddler. We had a few bumps, even in such a wide river. And I ended up with blisters on both hands. But it was so much fun!

uh oh!

uh oh!

And so relaxing! There’s a spot where the river gets narrowed between the rocks and the current is faster. It’s a great spot for a break and a little cooling off float. We floated down and then walked back up the rocks and floated down again.

Floating our cares away.

Floating our cares away.

Could have done that all day!

We saw lots of cool stuff along the way. A great blue heron, several osprey, kingfishers, and lots of other little birds we couldn’t identify. Turtles too, sunning on logs as we went by.

Mr. Blue watched us slide by.

Mr. Blue watched us slide by.

So I’m sending thanks to my brother who arranged for the boats, and to his friend who lent them to us. And to my sister for coming along taking all the pictures of me!

Can't get more fun than this.

Can’t get more fun than this.

The family weekend continues tomorrow and Sunday. I’m a lucky retiree. Yes I am.

Smile, you're RETIRED!

Smile, you’re RETIRED!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Rolling down the river

  1. I’ve thought, the past couple of years, that I’d love to go kayaking. Alas, I think I’ve waited too long because my energy level is now lacking. So, go for it, now, while you can enjoy it.

    Like

  2. Big fun! I used to paddle on the Chain of Lakes – haven’t been in several years. (The Jordan River is a good place to kayak! Also a great place to go for a winter raft trip.)

    Like

  3. Wonderful time, Dawn! So glad you had that fun adventure.

    Like

  4. My former neighbor was really into kayaking. Me? No way. I’m just not a fan of the water. I love being NEAR it, but not ON it. Nice thing is, I can always blame my long-haired dog, ha!

    Like

    • I’m sure Katie wouldn’t like kayaking either. But lucky her, I don’t invite her! 🙂 She says she’s OK staying home for SOME of my adventures as long as she gets to go on some too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My, what a pretty river and there’s nothing better than floating down a gentle current, cooling off on a hot day. My husband and I are also kayakers and both ours are closed top. Last year I took out an open top one and found it a lot of fun, easy to manoeuvre but I got quite wet! Such a beautiful way to enjoy nature, though, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

