Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The people of New York City

21 Comments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I don’t have a perfect representation of the people that inhabit or visit NYC. These are only those the images I felt I could get away with undetected. Except for the girls in Little Italy that posed for me while I was trying to get a street scene. We laughed about it after, how the street was better looking with them in it. Which was true.

NYC is filled with such facinating people. I wish I was braver and could walk up to those interesting faces and ask if I could take their picture. Maybe I’ll grow into that someday.

Each of the images in this slideshow has a story. I could tell you what they were…but it’s probably more fun if you make up some stories on your own.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “The people of New York City

  1. Fascinating, and yes, I love the idea of making up stories for the people you photographed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous photos and I have to tell you NYC is one of my favorite cities on the planet. I am a rather loud person (I laugh too loudly and talk to loudly) and that is the ONLY place where I fit right in. Both of my parents were from Brooklyn and I was born on Long Island 🙂 DakotasDen

    Liked by 2 people

    • LOL. I know when I used to talk to New Yorkers on the phone while at work my ears would ring! And the overall noise factor in NYC was sort of overwhelming to me, a person who likes to camp in the woods. It is NEVER quiet there! NEVER!

      Like

  3. Such great pictures. My favourite is the one of the woman on the balcony taking a selfie. Caught! I’ve never been to NYC but will go soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you get there soon! The woman on the balcony was taking shots of her street as the sun was going down. The buildings were glowing. The light was magical. I guess she wanted a shot of herself in all that glow!

      Like

  4. I know lots of people who like to take “street photos.” People are more okay with it than you might think. I’d say go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Diversity at it’s finest! There’s no place like NYC.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Certainly no place like it, that’s for sure. It’s exhausting and exhilarating all at the same time.

      Like

      • It is exhausting. Jeff and I were saying it’s going to take us 5 years to recover from our last trip before we can get the energy to go back again.

        Too much bustle for us. My mom goes at least once a month, and often twice a month. She just loves it, but she grew up in Philly, and I think she’s always missed the city life.

        Like

  6. These are terrific. They remind me of the street photography Babs Young did in Havana (also terrific).

    Like

  7. Great shots- love all your captures of NYC

    Like

  8. These are WONDERFUL! People may be even more of your forte than nature. You have a great eye.

    Like

    • I’d like people to become my forte. Hard though when you’re essentially shy. Interestingly when you carry a big camera most people think you have some sort of right to be there taking pictures. And when you carry a small camera you can get shots without people noticing. So…there’s more than one way to approach the whole issue.

      Like

  9. What a fun post! I think you did a great job capturing a great variety of people. They make special lenses or attachments for lenses for getting surreptitious shots. I’ve seen them on the Photojojo web site and considered trying them.

    Like

  10. These photos are wonderful, Dawn! I am more of a take-it-from-behind people photographer. I have asked people if I could take their picture, but then they pose……. This was a fun slide show and I loved making up my own stories, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

