Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Brooklyn!

12 Comments

I’ve seen first hand that more than one tree grows in Brooklyn. We’re here visiting friends and taking in a bit of city life.

Brooklyn after a storm.

Brooklyn after a storm.

During our first day we visited The New York City Transportation Museum here in Brooklyn. It has old buses and subway cars that kids can climb around and sit in.

Watch out world!  I'm driving the bus!

Watch out world! I’m driving the bus!

Oh yea. Adults can too.

We saw subway cars from as far back as 1912…

The seats had more padding in 1612!

The seats had more padding in 1612!

..up through 1961…

Mid-century modern.

Mid-century modern.

…and today. The today picture I took while riding on the actual subway out to Coney Island and back.

2016...last night.  But the museum had one from 2010 that looked just like this one.

2016…last night. But the museum had one from 2010 that looked just like this one.

After the museum we went for a walk along pretty tree lined streets, admiring the brownstones.

Beautiful old homes.

Beautiful old homes.

It’s fun to imagine what it’s like to live in one. But our friend made a good point. She said it was romantic to think about living in a house that old…but if she was going to spend that much money she’d want her new home to be brand new. These houses sell for millions each. Hard to fathom.

Someone suggested we see Coney Island. So that evening we hopped on a subway and went out to explore. Can’t beat a boardwalk along the Atlantic Ocean in July.

Fun stuff.

Fun stuff.

And the amusement park had some really cool rides. Oh, you ask…which ones did we ride?

Tempting...but crazy.

Tempting…but crazy.

Well..none actually. I’m pretty sure I’m at the age where anything remotely like this is going to make my sick. Well, not entirely sure, but sure enough to not want to risk it.

We walked out on the pier instead, watched people crabbing and fishing. And then we walked along the boardwalk for a long way.

Reflecting.

Reflecting.

It seemed like a perfect end to a very nice day. But boy did all that walking wear us out! Especially when we had to climb all these stairs at the Barkley Center to exit the subway on our way home!

Gotta get my flights of stairs in every day.  Sigh.

Gotta get my flights of stairs in every day. Sigh.

We were pretty tired. And sore. But will we take it easy tomorrow?

What do you think?

Peaceful evening along the Atlantic.

Peaceful evening along the Atlantic.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Brooklyn!

  1. So cool!!! Both of my parents were from Brooklyn, it’s funny how hip it is now to live there and it never was before!

    Like

  2. Enjoy your visit to the Big City! YOLO!

    Like

  3. Enjoying your visit to the city, but pssst! You have a little correction to make – I’m fairly certain there were no subway cars in 1612!! 😉

    Like

  4. Fantastic – It is another trip on my bucket list…wonderful photos!

    Like

  5. Will you take it easygoing? Not likely, methinks. In my visits to the city when I lived in the mid-Hudson valley, I never went to Brooklyn or Coney Island. Nor did I see the Statue of Liberty. Bad tourist.

    Like

    • Easy, not easygoing. Sigh.

      Like

      • It’s funny how “locals” never go see the touristy things, maybe because of the feeling that we can go see them any time. There were quite a few things in the San Francisco Bay Area that I didn’t get to for decades, and I’ve been here since 1968. We lived in Poughkeepsie for several years and I think probably the only reason that we went to NY fairly often was because my dad grew up there so thought of it as home. Actually when we lived there and went to NYC, we also didn’t do statue of liberty or coney ilsand–I think we did those only on major trips, not weekends.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. you are brave – the thought of even going near new York and it burrows would terrify me – way to many people, traffic, houses – everything 🙂

    Like

    • You wouldn’t want to drive in Manhattan–crazy. But the up side is that the bus and subway systems can get you pretty much anywhere and pretty quickly from wherever you are. And so much to see and do! And restaurants everywhere with sidewalk cafes that are open until the middle of the night. I’m guessing that Bronx & Brooklyn are similar, but Manhattan is where all the really tall buildings are. Fun to be among.
      I also hate driving in San Francisco’s downtown & tourist areas, and I’ve been there many times. Buses and such not as good there. Just for comparison. 🙂

      Like

  7. Wonderful photos as always. Now I want to go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

