Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Monday

19 Comments

Happy flowering clematis.

Happy flowering clematis.

Not so long ago Saturday mornings were my favorite time of the week. The weekend stretched before me; hours and hours of time to spend however I wanted. But by Sunday morning I was already beginning to grieve.

Now that I’m retired I’ve noticed that my spirit picks up on Monday mornings. Early morning I settle into my chair to check the news and the weather, to contemplate life or to do nothing at all. Perhaps to fall back asleep. My choice.

Cheerful mikweed.

Cheerful mikweed.

The dog asks to go out, and I stand with her in my front yard and listen to the roar of the freeway a mile away. All those people headed back to work. It makes me smile.

I know that sounds smug. Possibly even evil. But with everyone back at work grocery shopping gets easier. Driving into town is less insane. Going to the park is more peaceful.

Joyful zinnia.

Joyful zinnia.

It seems like the sky is blue just for me. I notice the roses glowing, the birds singing. I have time to watch the light move across my back yard.

Mondays are special because they remind me again, every week, how lucky I am that I’m not jumping in the shower and then into the car, heading back into the fray.

Roses smell sweeter.

Roses smell sweeter.

Monday is my favorite day though the rest of the workweek isn’t bad either. And I’ve learned to tolerate all of you crowding up my weekend. I’ve learned to just hang on because Monday will roll around again soon.

Monday. It’s my favorite day.

What’s yours?

Makes me smile.

Makes me smile.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

19 thoughts on “Monday

  1. Love this perspective. I’m going to be mindful of cherishing my retired Mondays

    Like

  2. I think I’ve been retired long enough that often I tend to take the time for granted. But not always – I am mindful and appreciative of the fact that I have time, and things can be done tomorrow if not today. I am very possessive of my time at home though, and resent having to make trips to town more frequently than once a week. Mindful Mondays – a grand idea!

    Like

  3. You feel about Monday the way I feel about September. Don’t have to go back to school! Time to take a break — and a road trip!

    Like

  4. Very pretty clematis! In the summer, it doesn’t really matter what day of the week it is to me!

    Like

    • I have lost the ability to keep track of days and have to continually think about what day it is. In the fall at least I have band on Tuesdays to mark the passage of time. Not that I’m complaining. At all.

      Like

  5. Beautiful clematis!
    I still say “Nyah Nyah Nyah Nyah nyah nyah” every time I pass a school bus or drive by a school in session!

    Like

  6. those are such pretty flowers – it is odd – I walk around our neighborhood and no one is growing any kind of flowers !

    Like

  7. And you know, I’ll bet there’s a furry princess who’s awfully glad to have her mama home these days!!

    Like

  8. I’m so glad you’re able to enjoy Sundays fully now, and Mondays at all! How nice 🙂 My work life is in such chaos, I can’t tell you what day of the week it is without consulting my calendar! My favorite day is the one when we get things all figured out. Oh? That never happens? Well, then my favorite day is today.

    Like

    • I don’t miss work chaos at all. When there was mandatory overtime I didn’t know what day it was either, we had to work so many hours all the days ran together. Grateful not to be doing that anymore.

      I was in the library this afternoon and noticed Traverse magazine. Fiipped it open and it fell right to YOUR photo (August edition)! That was cruel! You’re making a name for yourself up there! I’m always excited when I see your work published

      Like

  9. I don’t miss work chaos at all. When there was mandatory overtime I didn’t know what day it was either, we had to work so many hours all the days ran together. Grateful not to be doing that anymore.

    I was in the library this afternoon and noticed Traverse magazine. Fiipped it open and it fell right to YOUR photo (August edition)! That was cruel! You’re making a name for yourself up there! I’m always excited when I see your work published.

    Like

  10. Good post. I’ve felt the same about weekends since I retired. I HATE going out on weekends because during the week I have the stores to myself (almost), there’s not a lot of traffic and honestly, things are so hectic as they are on weekends.

    I used to dread Mondays. Now I, too, look forward to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

