Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Winding through Shakespeare’s woods

12 Comments

Have you ever explored through beautiful woodland in search of Shakespeare? Unless you live in Ann Arbor, maybe not. But if you’re from around here you’re in luck. The University of Michigan is putting on a spectacular production of Love’s Labour’s Lost in the Arboretum below the beautiful peony garden.

The peony garden.

The peony garden.

You should go. Even if you aren’t sure you love Shakespeare. Because what could be better than to spend a couple of hours wandering in the beautiful trees and flowers of the Arboretum while watching talented people joyously telling a story of love and mistakes and confusion and confirmation?

As the actors headed down into the woods to prepare for the evening performance my Aunt and I wandered the beautiful peony garden.

On her way to find her nobleman.

On her way to find her nobleman.

It was past it’s prime, last weekend would have been perfect, but it was still beautiful, and smelled like heaven must.

Can you smell the perfume?

Can you smell the perfume?

Once the show started we followed along eagerly, as we learned that the country’s king had decided to ban women from his court for three years, while he and his noblemen studied. Women are, you know, distractions from serious study.

No women?? For three years???

No women?? For three years???

But had he forgotten that the Princess from France was scheduled for a royal visit? Why yes he had! So she and her noble women would have to stay camped in a field outside the court. She was quite put out. Which was a shame, because the King had a huge crush on her.

The ladies arrive.

The ladies arrive.

And the rest of the women? They and the King’s noblemen had crushes too. So what to do? Meet in secret, write love letters that get hand carried to the wrong people? Pine away in the forest?

Studying.

Studying.

All of that and more. And of course don’t forget the visiting Spaniard with his grandiose ideas of love and women who falls for the common milk maid.

She's a match for him.

She’s the match for him.

It was all there deep in the lush green forest. How does it all end? Does everyone get to live happily ever after? I’m not telling you. You’ll have to go find out for yourself. The play continues Thursdays through Sundays until June 26.

Playing a deceptive game.

Playing a deceptive game.

Head out for an adventure. Try something new. Wear bug spray and bring a blanket or a chair to sit on.

The women celebrate.

The women celebrate.

You’ll love it. Guaranteed.

Heavenly.

Heavenly.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Winding through Shakespeare’s woods

  1. what an amazing experience – won’t quite make it in time from Australia, but thanks for a touch of culture for the day. Great photos.

    Like

  2. Oh, those peonies! Yes, I think I can smell them. 🙂 I love Shakespeare done outdoors. Love’s Labour’s Lost is one I’ve seen in a garden somewhere. And A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Looks like loads of fun. 🙂

    Like

  3. What a great way to spend an evening – remember going to something similar in Minneapolis one year

    Like

  4. beautiful, such a lovely way to spend an afternoon, We were in Michigan yesterday, but not close enough to the arboretum… my wife’s favorite flower is the peony and our’s have graced our back garden since late May, sadly they are fading, too. Not to worry, there are other flowers on the way. Have a wonderful week.

    Like

    • Peony blossoms are one of my favorites too. I wish they lasted longer, but I’m glad we have them no matter how fleeting. And you are right..there are more wonderful flowers coming to a garden near you (and me) soon!

      Like

  5. Fabulous way to spend the day, Dawn! Thanks for letting me tag along. I’m sure I read this play, but I must confess I don’t remember the ending. Now you’ve got me intrigued!

    Like

  6. A garden full of peonies sounds like heaven to me too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

