Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

I had a blast!

13 Comments

Katie here. I’ve been bugging my mama (so what else is true, right?) to let me tell you about our camping trip. Here it is almost two weeks since I went on my season opening camping adventure and she still hasn’t let me on her blog!

My campsite!

My campsite!

She says she’s been busy. Sure mama. I think she just doesn’t want me to tell you about it in case you get jealous of all the fun I’m having. That’s what I think. So anyway, mama is outside weeding and I figured I could sneak in here and show you, cause she’ll be too tired when she gets back inside to even notice I was messing around with her laptop. You can click on any of the photos to see them better.

Trillium!  And me.  :)

Trillium! And me. 🙂

We went right down the road to our local state park which was lucky because it was really really hot the four days we were out there and in the middle of each day we got to come home to get out of the sun! In fact mama had to come home a couple of times to get stuff she forgot! I don’t think she was very organize but don’t tell her I noticed. I don’t want her to feel bad. But I hope makes a list of what to take next time, because we’re going camping far far away pretty soon!

We were camping in the woods and the spring flowers were blooming. Trillium and geranium were everywhere! This next picture is mama’s favorite from the trip. (Make sure you click on it so you can see beautiful me even better!) She made me sit here for a looooong time and then I didn’t even get a treat! Mama says she’s cutting back on treats, and I can understand that for her, but I don’t think it’s fair that I have to go on a diet too.

So pretty in the woods!

So pretty in the woods!

One day my friend Deuce and his mom stopped by and we went for a walk in the woods together. We didn’t go real far because it was so warm, but we went far enough so that Deuce could see what a beautiful woods it is. He likes to get on top of stuff, like logs and rocks. I don’t like to do that so much so I just stayed with my mom who was busy taking pictures. For once it wasn’t me she was making pose!

My friend Deuce

My friend Deuce

Then they stayed into the evening and mama made a big fire. She said it was the best fire ever, because Deuce’s mom brought her some fire starter! The moms made themselves treats…

Hey!  Whatcha got there?

Hey! Whatcha got there?

… and they didn’t even share! I think that is just unforgivable, don’t you? Deuce and I were very good though and only begged a little. Then he got to sit on his mom’s lap while they watched the fire. I asked my mom if I could go take a nap in the tent but she ignored me so I went off and slept under the picnic table while they talked.

By the time we went to bed I was totally exhusted! Mama said I slept in some pretty weird ways that night…

zzzzz.....

zzzzz…..

…and she can’t figure out how this is comfortable at all:

More zzzzzzz.....

More zzzzzzz…..

We had a lot of fun camping near the woods. We went on lots of walks, and took lots of naps.

Come ON!  Let's go this way!

Come ON! Let’s go this way!

It was almost perfect. Perfect would be if we were near a big lake. At least that’s what mama says.

It's a little warm to be running mama!

It’s a little warm to be running mama!

On Thursday, before the big Memorial Day weekend, mama packed up. I was not so happy for her to dismantle my camp! But she promises that we’ll be out there in my tent again soon!

What are you DOING mama?

What are you DOING mama?

I can’t wait to see where she takes me next!

Let's go again soon mama!

Let’s go again soon mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “I had a blast!

  1. This is such a cute story. Great pics.

    Like

  2. Wonderful adventure, Katie — and yes, your mama’s favorite picture is MY favorite, too! We mamas know which photos of our babies make us smile the most! Glad you had so much fun. By the way, how *do* you sleep upside down like that? Dallas NEVER sleeps upside down (at least, not when I’m around!)

    Like

  3. I really enjoy Katie’s blog posts! I catch my cat Milo sleeping in some pretty weird positions too! I’m looking forward to Katie’s next report from camp… 🙂

    Like

  4. that sure does look like lots of fun – hopefully the bugs weren’t to bad

    Like

    • The bugs weren’t bad at all. But our next trip up north I’m sure we’ll run into them in full force. Luckily Katie’s boyfriend Reilly sent her some bug spray that we’ll take with us.

      Like

  5. Glad to hear you both had a fun camping trip! Sitting around a campfire brings back good memories. Tell you mama I so admire that she’s such a free spirit. 🙂

    Like

  6. Mommy chuckled at those pictures of you sleeping in those yoga poses. Lol. Glad u had fun camping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

