Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Memorial Day memories

4 Comments

Summer in a bowl

Summer in a bowl

When we were kids we could count on spending Memorial Day with a bunch of other kids we didn’t really know. My parents and a group of their friends from college took turns hosting a Memorial Day picnic. I remember there being five or six couples and sets of kids, though I can only remember the names of a few. The Hartmans, the Fritzs. I know there were more. Every year we’d end up in someone’s backyard, and some years they’d all end up in ours.

As a kid I was never really comfortable at these events. I didn’t know the children of my parents’ friends and we had little in common. Some of us were shy and introverted, me included. I remember liking the adults a lot better than the kids, and hanging around the dinner table listening to their talk and laughter. The adults had a great time reminiscing and catching up. I can’t say that any of the kids looked forward to the day.

I do remember eating well. And I remember my mother’s summer staple – potato salad. In fact the last time I visited her down in Alabama I asked how she made it and she told me. I didn’t write it down. I figured I’d remember, and besides, I could always ask again. Or so I thought.

I’ve been experimenting, trying to get it right for years. I’ve asked lots of people what they put in their potato salad, and I think I’ve almost got it figured out. So today while remembering those Memorial Days of fifty years ago, I made potato salad, complete with the snipped chives from my garden, almost exactly the way Mom made it. With a little of my mother-in-law’s version thrown in.

I haven’t tasted it yet…it’s settling into itself in the fridge at the moment; I think it needs some time to meld. But I’m hoping when we have some tonight I’ll remember only the good times from past Memorial Days. I hope all those kids I didn’t know have grown up to be happy adults with kids and grand-kids of their own, and that they have better memories of those college reunion picnics than I do.

And I hope their potato salad always turns out exactly the way their moms used to make it.

Mom - before potato salad days.

Mom – before potato salad days.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

4 thoughts on “Memorial Day memories

  1. This one brings tears to my eyes. We always think we have more time than we do, don’t we? I know if I could have one more day with my dad, I’d listen patiently to all his corny stories (that I’ve heard a zillion times) and not complain! Hope your potato salad turns out just right!

    Like

  2. Here’s to our mothers’ potato salads, whatever they contained! xxxooo

    Like

  3. potato salad is moms favorite
    Snorts
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  4. Everyone loves my mom’s potato salad but I can use the same exact ingredients and it taste different. Some people just have speciality dishes and people can not copy it lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

