Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Disoriented

6 Comments

We came back from our road trip to a typical spring in Michigan. Snow and sleet, frost and freeze warnings all in mid-May. It’s confusing. Just last week I was running on the board walk at Virginia Beach in shorts, getting overheated while wearing a long sleeved technical shirt, hair up under a hat, sun blinding my eyes.

Ah the memories.

There were times during the trip that I felt disoriented too. We spent a lot of time exploring the history that permeates Virginia.

Returning to another century.

Returning to another century.

Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown.

And then we’d drive back to our hotel room in Virginia Beach…

Crazy place.

Crazy place.

…filled with tourists and cars and bright lights and seafood buffets. For a moment, standing on the top of the parking deck back at the hotel I had to shake my head to clear it. Which world was real?

Maybe neither.

Even out on the road we slipped between the seasons. Where it was early summer in Virginia…

Green hills of Virginia.

Green hills of Virginia.

…driving back through Pennsylvania a day later we watched spring arriving all over again.

Regressing into spring.

Regressing into spring.

It was all disorienting, almost surreal. But then Katie came home and took us under her paw. We’re back to reality now.

Thanks Katie-girl.

Good morning mama!

Good morning mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “Disoriented

  1. Contrasts and change, perhaps the core of life. Thank goodness we have furry kids to keep things real!

    Like

  2. Nothing like a helpful Sheltie to coax us into what’s truly important, huh, Dawn?! Looks like you had a great trip, though I could easily do without snow and sleet in mid-May!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

