Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Baltimore…and a bit of sweetness

13 Comments

I was in Baltimore a few years ago for a truck safety event, but I never left the hotel. This visit was different. We began at Fort McHenry, which has been active in some fashion for every war, but is most notable for it’s involvement in the war of 1812.

Fort McHenry.

Fort McHenry.

It’s also known as the fort that flew the flag that inspired the writing of our national anthem. In 1813 General George Armistead requested a “flag so large that the British will have no difficulty seeing it from a distance.”

The back of the barracks.

The back of the barracks.

Mary Pickersgill sewed a flag 25 feet by 17 feet, and it was flown the day after a British bombardment, to show that the Americans’ still held the fort. Francis Scott Key saw the flag and was inspired to write the Star Spangled Banner as the national anthem.

She sewed the famous flag.

She sewed the famous flag.

We walked along the waterfront below the fort, the sky turning grey with the promised rain. Still, it was a beautiful morning.

Tourists sailing on the river.

Tourists sailing on the river.

Just down the hill a tall ship was moored. The Pride of Baltimore II was getting ready for a summer voyage up the coast and through the St. Lawrence Seaway to the Great Lakes! She’ll be in Lake Huron sometime this summer.

Pride of Baltimore II getting ready to sail the Great Lakes!

Pride of Baltimore II getting ready to sail the Great Lakes!

We hope to see her near Bay City later this year.

It began to rain as we headed into the city of Baltimore. Wandering the inner harbor area we enjoyed all the shops and sights through a slow drizzle.

Vibrant Inner Harbor; books, bars, boats and more.

Vibrant Inner Harbor; books, bars, boats and more.

The USS Constellation is in the harbor and you can take a tour. It’s under renovation at the moment, and we didn’t take the tour as there was many other things to do. But it’s a beautiful ship.

A piece of history waiting to be explored.

A piece of history waiting to be explored.

There are a number of towers dominating the Baltimore skyline. Though it was beginning to rain harder we decided to climb several blocks up to the top of the hill to figure out what this tower was.

What is that up there?

What is that up there?

Turns out it is the Bromo-Seltzer tower, built by a man named Emerson as an advertisement for his product. In fact originally this tower had a huge Bromo bottle on top!

Bromo Seltzer?!

Bromo-Seltzer?!

Apparently he saw a similar tower in Florence Italy, called his architect and said he wanted something similar, but instead of one clock like the Florence tower he wanted four clocks, and he wanted them to be larger than the clocks in Big Ben in London. No ego there!

An artist rending of what the tower used to look like.

An artist rending of what the tower used to look like.

As we were standing outside the building looking up at it in what was becoming a downpour a man opened the door and invited us in out of the rain. He explained that the tower is now being used as artists’ studios, and he was the curator. Though it wasn’t officially open he took us up to the 15th floor in an old manual elevator…

A Bromo collection.

A Bromo collection.

…where there was a Bromo-Seltzer exhibit. And then we were allowed to walk down the 15 flights of stairs where the artists in residence were displaying their work. It was a fun example of the interesting things you might find if you just follow your curiosity.

It was raining harder on our walk back down to the harbor and the car. We noticed another interesting tower of sorts but decided it really was time to get out of the rain.

More interesting architecture.

More interesting architecture.

After our tour of some of downtown Baltimore we headed out of town to visit a friend and his lovely family. I’ll share two of them with you. Griff….

I'm not sure about you yet lady!

I’m not sure about you yet lady!

..and Scout

All I want to do is PLAY lady!

All I want to do is PLAY lady!

Our friend has human family members as well. But…you know me and dogs. And I bet you think that the dogs were the sweet part of this post didn’t you. Well. They were sweet.

But this morning we stopped by Hershey Pennsylvania and took a little tour. We learned all about Hershey candy from a sweet little friend…

How do they make all that chocolate?

How do they make all that chocolate?

…and we shopped in the largest candy store in the world. It was almost as though sensible eating for months was thrown out the window. There was so much stuff! And suddenly I wanted it all.

Lots and lots and lots of candy.

Lots and lots and lots of candy.

But we were good and walked out of there with only $12 spent. It’s still more chocolate than I’ve had anywhere near me in a very long time. In fact tonight it’s out in the car so that I don’t eat it all at one sitting.

It’s calling my name. But it’s not going to win. Yet. I don’t think.

Tomorrow is a new adventure as we work our way home. It’s pretty here in Pennsylvania’s mountains. I don’t know where we’ll be, but I’ll share it with you after we get there.

Susquehanna River.

Susquehanna River.

And of course…there’s still Williamsburg.

It was a little damp downtown.

It was a little damp downtown.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Baltimore…and a bit of sweetness

  1. I think I prefer the Emerson Tower without the Bromo bottle. Dog fixes are important, and Griff and Scout were adorable. Labradoodles? Ahh, the Susquehanna, been years since I last saw it.

    Like

    • Me too, the part about liking the building better w/o the bromo bottle on top! And yes Griff and Scout were ADORABLE!!!! Yes they are labradoodles. I didn’t know you had been over on this side of the country. Or maybe I did and I’ve forgotten.

      Like

      • Spent many of my childhood years in various parts of the Midwest, and around 20 of my young adult years in the mid-Hudson valley of New York and Pennsylvania, with a break of a year or so in Walled Lake, Michigan.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the boats on the river pictures. Never get tired of seeing cities on the water.

    Like

  3. that is quite the tour and so many interesting things to see – odd that building in the sixth picture – it looks like it has fallen over

    Like

  4. I loved the blue Bromo bottles. Couldn’t help imagining smooth, old pieces of them as beach glass.

    Like

  5. Fine, I have to go back to Baltimore now, because I never did see all the fun stuff you did!

    Like

  6. What a fun trip! And Scout does look like Scout.

    Like

  7. How wonderful that you got to go into the Emerson Tower. I didn’t have time when I was last in Baltimore. You are covering a lot of fun and interesting ground on your trip. You’re also going to places I’ve been to so it’s fun to see it from your point of view (and through your lens). Hershey is near where my husband grew up, but I can’t remember the last time we went to Chocolate World. Probably when our youngest son was still under the age of 10 (and he’s 31 now).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

