Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

April showers

22 Comments

HI!!!!

HI!!!!

Katie here! It’s raining today and I’m bored so I thought I’d share some of my latest adventures with you. Cause I figure you’re bored too and why not share!

Mama says I shouldn’t be sad that it’s raining. We haven’t had any in a long time, and besides, she says, it’s not SNOW! Good point mama. Of course I sort of like snow so I guess I wouldn’t have minded if we got some to play in. Mama, on the other hand, does not want to see any more of that white stuff till next Christmas!

Anyway.

I’ve been to lots of parks lately. Mama is home all the time and we get to go go go! I love that. I think mama does too, though maybe not quite as much as me. Cause she doesn’t get treats at the park, not being a princess and all.

I’ve been over to my park quite a bit already this month. It still doesn’t look like spring over there, but at least the snow is gone. There aren’t any leaves yet, but after this rain I bet things begin to bud out!

This is my majestic look.

This is my majestic look.

It’s been a bit wet with all the snow melt, and windy, but I don’t mind. I even walked through a puddle at the back of the park this year! Mama was surprised; she usually has to carry me through that part of the trail every spring. I guess I’m growing up and taking on more responsibility now that I’m almost ten.

Art in my park!

Art in my park!

Did you know they are advertising the DIA (Detroit Institute of Arts) at my park? There are these big pictures with notes about the artist there! My mama reads them all to me but she says I can’t go to the DIA because I’m a dog. Seems unfair. I mean, why put art in my park if I can’t go?

One day at my park I didn’t feel like walking all the way around, so I took my mama over to the library and we walked around there. And you know what I accidentally did?

Uh, she's on to me!

Uh, she’s on to me!

I walked down this long line of stairs! Without thinking! I forgot that I don’t do stairs! Now my mama is sure that I’ve been scamming her all these years when I made her carry me up and down.

And one time, over by one of the ponds mama thought she’d take a photo of the two of us enjoying my park. But she never did get the hang of setting the camera up. Most of the shots looked like this.

Mama doesn't move fast enough.

Mama doesn’t move fast enough.

I’ve also spent lots of time at home in my own pretty yard. Mama is getting worried that she’s already behind on the weeding, but I think the flowers are beautiful just the way they are.

I look good in blue, don't you think?

I look good in blue, don’t you think?

AND…best news of all! Mama and I got to go camping in the back yard two nights in a row! I was very very good and only barked a little (OK a lot the first night and only a little the second night) at the snorting deer that trespassed on our camp site around two a.m. each night. The second night I slept all night and never even moved around on my princess pillow!

This is MY tent and MY stuff.  Mama takes care of it for me.

This is MY tent and MY stuff. Mama takes care of it for me.

Of course I got mama up at 5:15 a.m. each morning but she doesn’t seem to mind now that she doesn’t have to go to work anymore. I love camping! She says we’re going to a real campground in May and another one somewhere up north in June! I can not wait!

And you know what else? Last night I got to go for a wonderful walk with my pal Deuce and his mom at his park! It’s in a town and there’s a creek that runs through it and there’s ducks and lots of people and oh! The wonderful smells!

Deuce and me at his park!

Deuce and me at his park!

I could hardly lift my nose from the ground anywhere, it was heaven! I walked a mile and a half and wasn’t even tired. I didn’t want to leave! Deuce was a real good host and showed me all the best spots to sniff. And his mom was so patient and let me sniff as long as I wanted. Even my own mama was pretty indulgent about it all.

I’ve been having the best time this spring so I guess it’s OK there’s one day of rain. I could probably use the rest anyway. I’m sure mama has more adventures up her sleeve, and I need to be ready!

Signing off now,

Katie.

PS: I got a little damp this morning.

The wet dog look.

The wet dog look.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “April showers

  1. Katie! A puddle and stairs?! Wow, you really are a big girl!

    Like

  2. Pretty good adventures Katie. Do you think you’ll be up to another visit with the Cowboy and Miss Sadie in June?

    Like

    • The June trip will be over on Lake Huron near Harrison…but I anticipate a different trip somewhere over near you at which time, if it works out, we would be honored to visit the Cowboy and Miss Sadie again and perhaps go on a walk or something.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are such a lucky Princess, Katie! Looks like you are having so much fun visiting all those parks! Happy Spring 🙂

    Like

  4. Katie, I loved your story. It sounds like you are having a great summer already! I am jealous, wish I could be home all the time and have fun with my prince and princesses!

    Like

  5. Now is the perfect time for parks, and I’m glad you’re visiting up a storm! I’m also glad it’s not snowing – even if you love it, I’m sure your mama will be out more with you if it’s not snowing 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, not too hot yet. I was looking at things from a year ago on FB and it was snowing a year ago today..so we are totally psyched that it’s been so nice this year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Petey is having a tough time adjusting to the warmer weather. Pit bulls aren’t great at regulating their body temps, so we have to make sure we have easy access to water so he can cool his tummy. Still, he’s excited at the long hikes we’ve been enjoying.

        Like

        • Awwww….shelties aren’t so good at adjusting to warm weather either. I learned that lesson last summer. Now I always have water for her to drink…but can’t cool her tummy much…too much fur there.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. “Wet dog” is not a good look for a Princess, Katie! But you look spectacular in those blue flowers and your spiffy tent. Cool, having your mama keep up with all your gear for you! Bet your mama’s glad not to have to “taxi” you up and down stairs any more!

    Like

  7. Lots of fun times even if you did get a little damp! Come to my neck of the woods and we can go to the park together!! DakotasDen

    Like

  8. Sounds like you are having a fantastic spring Katie! You are a lucky girl!

    Like

  9. Doggie fun! Managing puddles and stairs — a grownup girl!

    Mamas don’t mind rain in April because it means (1) reduced fire danger and (2) increased chance of finding morels. Katie, can you find a morel? Some dogs can….

    Like

  10. Life is such great fun when you have the right perspective; the photo series is really special.

    Like

  11. beautiful art in the park!

    Like

Leave a Reply

