Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

How to celebrate 60

27 Comments

Strong women.   Every single one of them.

Strong women. Every single one of them.

It’s certain there are about 3,500 women, mostly in this state, who are having trouble walking down stairs today. And tomorrow may be only slightly better.

If you’re not a runner you have no idea the quadricep carnage that occurred Sunday morning over in Grand Rapids the result of the Gazelle Girls half marathon and 5K, a women’s only road race. Thinking about it now, if you are a guy, this was the place to be. More than 3000 fit women dressed in running gear swarmed the city.

But that’s probably another blog.

Friends race for the finish line

Friends race for the finish line

I turned 60 on Saturday, an age I’m not too happy about. But what better way to boost my confidence, convince myself that age is just a number, that I’m not old, that it’s going to all be OK, then to run a 5K for the first time in umpteen years.

Superhero giving out high fives

Superhero giving out high fives

Many of my friends ran the half marathon (13.2 miles), but I was thrilled to be running a 5K (3.1 miles). I’ve been walking so when this race came up, a time to reconnect with many of my cyber running friends, I thought I’d throw a little jogging into the training mix and be good to go.

Superhero sees his mom coming!

Superhero sees his mom coming!

And that’s exactly what I did. I went on more walks than I might have if I wasn’t ‘training’ and I threw in some quarter miles of jogging sometimes. Maybe once a week. Or so. Surely that would be enough.

Enjoying the moment

Enjoying the moment

I didn’t carry a camera with me on my 5K race, but so many times along the route I wished I had it with me. So you’ll have to use your imagination when I tell you I followed a woman with a pink shirt that read “too inspired to be tired” most of the race. And that the shadows of a mom and her two seven year old twins followed mine. And then they caught up with me. I ran either just in front or just behind them most of the race. They were adorable. And yes… they finished before I did. Seven year olds.

Running mom into the finish line

Running mom into the finish line

You’ll have to use your imagination when I tell you many women were wearing tiaras or tutus. Or both. A majority of them were dressed in the wildly beautiful bright colors that seem to be in style these days. The shoes pounding the pavement in front of me were beautiful. I so wanted to shoot them. With a camera. Seriously. A camera.

Suddenly I was tired.  I sat on the curb and shot through the fence.

Suddenly I was tired. I sat on the curb and shot through the fence.

Pick up your feet, pick up your feet was my mantra as I kept watch of the crumbling city pavement. I’m too old, now, to fall. I could break a hip, land in a nursing home. It felt quite a bit like that’s where I should be anyway. Especially that last long uphill at the end, that final left turn toward the finish line. Pick up your feet, pick up your feet. Breath.

There was joy...

There was joy…

I went back to the hotel when I finished my race to get my camera because I couldn’t be that long without one. The photos here were taken while I was waiting for my half marathoner friends to come across the finish. There were lots of great people to watch. So many strong women. Such great family and friend support. Beautiful children excited to see their mom or sister or grandmother race by.

...there was angst.

…there was angst.

It was a wonderful way to celebrate my 60th birthday with friends who truly believe you are never old. As evidenced by our “Energizer Betty” who Sunday ran a half marathon at age 72. Who ran a marathon on her 70th birthday.

Our Betty!

Our Betty!

Who I want to be when I grow up.

Politics.  It's everywhere.  :)

Politics. It’s everywhere. 🙂

And there is one thing I know is true; 3.1 miles is a very long way to run. Thank goodness I didn’t have to do ten more!

Me and my water.

Me and my water.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “How to celebrate 60

  1. Wow- good for you! loved these photos 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy Happy Belated Birthday!! Ohhhh my friend YOU ROCK!!! I turned 60 last October (and trust me, I was no more thrilled than you are!!!), but my hat is off to you! You celebrated in one of the most fantastic and POSITIVE ways EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woooo hooo!!!! DakotasDen

    Like

  3. Oh Dawn, I need some of your determination. Not to run, but to get this body moving! I did a lot better at 60 than I do now. Can that be my excuse? Age?

    Like

    • A little bit of movement is a big help. Today I am still sore…but hope to go on a walk shortly. Wish we lived closer…we could walk together. OR…you and I can go for a virtual walk together….set a time and go! What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dawn, I’ll think about it. These days, weeks, my outside time involves raking, picking up piles, and burning the debris once it gets to the burn pit. once that gets done, if it ever does, I plan to start morning walks.

        Like

  4. I’m so proud of you!

    Like

  5. Another spot-on post & photos! Happy 6 plus 0! From another recent arrival.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can take all the advice from recent arrivals as I can get. So far I have no convinced myself that 60 is going to be fine.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the same way about 60. 30 didn’t affect me at all, nor 40, nor 50, but, yeah, 60 is supposed to be old. To me it means that I’m no longer a young person with some physical ailments; I’m an old person. I have to keep reminding myself that 60 plus physical ailments is NOT a requirement. Hanging out with agility people is a good reminder of that (like the woman who just turned 70 and is thinking that maybe she won’t jog 5 miles every morning, or the 80-+-yr old who is still running her sheltie and earning ribbons). Hanging out with Sierra Club hikers is good for that. Like the 60-+-yr-old man (I think he’s 5 years older than me) who has hiked Mt. Whitney in a one-day trip every year for 40 years. (This is a trip that lots of hikers can’t manage in one day because of the distance up and the drastic change in altitude.) Walking & participating in 5K walk-jog-stumble-runs seems like a good way to kick 60’s butt, for a start!

        Liked by 1 person

        • OOps forgot to mention that the people at movie theaters and restaurants who are now giving me senior discounts without me even asking is NOT HELPING! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Good for you! Happy Birthday!

    Like

  7. I can walk forever but sooooo cannot run – congratulations Dawn! A great way to spend your 60th – you’re not getting older, you’re getting better!

    Like

    • I can walk forever too..though eventually my back will begin to ache, running OR walking. Still..husband and I walked forever on our Canadian vacation in October. Running felt good though…like a really nice memory from years ago. For about the first 1/2 mile anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Birthday and good job!!
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  9. Happy Belated Birthday, Dawn — what an inspiration you are! Celebrating your big day with a run sounds amazing. Painful and challenging, but amazing! Kudos for giving it the ole college try. Will you do skydiving for your 70th?!!

    Like

  10. they do say of you don’t think about your real age and just remember the age you were most happy at – that you live longer – that means I am permanently 38 🙂 🙂

    Like

  11. Wait, wait . . . 60 is OLD???? I did not know that. Nobody ever tells me anything. Well. If 60 is old I must be – lessee . . . 2016 minus leventy, carry the 10 – ohboy. It is entirely possible I am dead. I don’t think so, though. But just in case, I am walking, not running. Just in case.

    Happy birthday Dawn!

    Like

  12. Now I’m really jealous! You’re retired, and you’re only 60?! 🙂

    Like

  13. Pingback: Long Overdue | Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

