Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s a Horned Lark!

6 Comments

In Tuesday’s post I had been walking in a local park and saw a bird I wasn’t familar with. Turns out a friend of mine knew just what it was.

A Horned Lark! From my walk earlier this week.

A Horned Lark!

I’ve never heard of such a bird; I’m beginning to realize that I’m only truly familiar with birds that come to my feeder. Last year, while camping I saw a new bird for the first time and a friend had to tell me that it was an American Redstart. I haven’t seen one since, but I hope to again this summer when I camp at the same park. Also last year, while mowing the back yard, I noticed a King bird for the first time. All of these birds are supposed to be common around here…but I’d never noticed them before. Obviously I have not been observant.

Anyway…to learn more about the Horned Lark, check out this link done by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. You can hear the sounds they make on that site too. The bird I saw was definitely singing, that’s how I noticed him at all.

So thank you Linda for letting me know what this was! Now I’ll be looking for him on my next trip to the park, and around my own backyard too.

Internet photo

Internet photo

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “It’s a Horned Lark!

  1. The blessings of Internet and social media – instant learning! I’m like you, I know the birds that have come to my feeders.

    Like

  2. I don’t know as I’ve ever seen that kind of bird before, but his song sounds somewhat familiar. Perhaps, like you, I’m just more focused on the birds that gravitate to our yard and feeder. How cool that one of your friends recognized it and shared her knowledge!

    Like

  3. it is amazing how much more you will see now you are retired – having the time to just sit and watch can make all the difference

    Like

  4. The best part of this part of life is having the luxury of showing up and paying attention at times and places that would have been inconvenient before. I know you’re going to take full advantage!

    Like

  5. I love discovering new birds. Thanks for sharing. Hope you’ll keep sharing more as you find them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

