Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Looking for fog

13 Comments

After days and days of cold littered with snow we woke this morning to more temperate weather. With the snow rapidly melting the warm air was tinged with fog. As the sun rose I headed over to the closest park to see what might be interesting. I actually caught this out of the corner of my eye as I was driving to the back of the park, and just had to turn around at the golf course and come back. (Click on any photo to make it bigger and see more detail.)

Mysterious

Mysterious

The fog was disappearing and by the time I got up to the parking lot and began the long walk down the hill toward the woods it was gone. So I began to look for other interesting things.

A flock of seven sandhill cranes flew by, oddly silent. It’s rare that I’ve seen them when they weren’t making a lot of noise as they fly. But this was pretty early in the morning. Maybe they hadn’t had coffee yet.

Incoming!

Incoming!

I liked the fact that the red twig dogwood bushes were very very red even under the dull cloudy sky. And that the fog, now droplets, was beautiful tucked among the bright twigs.

Color bursting out all over

Color bursting out all over

And there was something else bright red flitting through the forest. Some people believe a cardinal in your path is a loved one’s spirit come to visit. I see so many cardinals that I don’t think they can all be my long gone loved ones, but this one was all alone, so maybe.

Just stopped by to say hello

Just stopped by to say hello

Then there was this bird. It was sitting quite far away, and the morning light interfered with my sight. Or maybe I’m just getting older. Anyway, I don’t know what this bird is, so I took a shot blindly and then cropped it a whole lot hoping one of you will know. We have killdeer out at this park…could it be one of those? It was making quite a racket out by the road, but not making the typical killdeer kind of song.

Who am I?

Who am I?

I don’t remember killdeer having yellow on them either…so…what do you think it is?

Of course the red winged blackbirds are everywhere. At home they are eating me out of bags and bags of sunflower oilers. They are starving! But so are all the other birds, so I keep putting it out for them. At the park they are establishing their territories and this guy was not excited about me walking by on the path.

No crossing into MY territory!

No crossing into MY territory!

He fluffed up to get his picture taken though. Show off.

The pack of sandhill cranes flew back over, something must have startled them from their breakfast on the golf course. One of them still has legs hanging low. I wonder if he flies that way all the time?

Looking for brunch

We all have our own flying style lady. Get over it.

And then the sun came out! It lit up the hill I was climbing as I headed back to the car. I couldn’t resist taking a photo of one of my favorite trees.

Splendidly alone

Splendidly alone

Someone going the other way asked me if I had gotten any good pictures. I shrugged, wagged my hand back and forth. Nothing special I replied.

On my drive home I stopped at a hilly field, the home of a crabapple tree that used to grace a farmhouse yard. I’ve always admired the way the tree and the hill share the space, always meant to grab a photo. Today was the day.

Little tree, big sky

Little tree, big sky

I don’t know what it is about this tree, sitting alone in an empty field. I just like it.

So…did I get any good pictures this morning? Oh yea. Every morning that I get to spend outside with my camera is a good morning. Fog, no fog. Sun, no sun. There’s always something special to find. And to make the day even better, when I got home Katie demanded equal time and we headed out to her park.

I’m sure she’ll tell you all about it soon.

Pay attention mama!

Pay attention mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Looking for fog

  1. Can’t believe you have snow!!! Love the pictures, especially those bright red twigs. And the little red cardinal. You need to come to Knoxville — it’s springy and the colors are happy!

    Like

  2. Checked my Waite’s bird app, and they don’t show yellow on the Killdeer, and generally they are in our areas in the summer, but it sure looks like one. Do you have any Plovers in your area? That was listed as similar.

    Like

  3. I love all these photos- that red in the dogwood is intense!

    Like

  4. Beautiful series of photos. Your mystery bird is a mystery to me. I’ve never seen yellow on a killdeer either, but otherwise, it does look like one. I love it when the fog forms over snow. It’s something I haven’t seen often.

    Like

  5. They are all great shots…I love how the changing seasons give us interesting photo opportunities…Lovely! I really love the one with the lonely trees…I’m always on the look out for those kinds of shots 🙂

    Like

  6. The bird is a horned lark.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. No clue what your mystery bird is — don’t think I’ve ever seen one of its kind. But I love the saying about cardinals and have heard that before. Regardless of its truth, they always make me smile! And so does your picture of a most insistent Katie, ready for adventure!!

    Like

  8. I see a red winged blackbird in a farmer’s field every morning on my drive to work. I swear he’s sitting on the same piece of tall grass each time…is that possible? If they’re territorial, then maybe he is!

    Great photos. I love photos of lone trees.

    Like

  9. I share your affection for solitary trees – and for Sandhill Cranes! I like the red twig dogwood, too – I guess that must be what’s growing at the edge of the swamp. (I think red twig and red osier are the same thing. I believe lots of stuff that’s not true, so don’t pay any attention to anything I say. Sigh. Except for the parts about what I like. There I’m on solid ground.)

    Like

  10. Pingback: It’s a Horned Lark! | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

