Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Cee’s Black and White Photo Challenge: People or animals

14 Comments

While I was walking back from the cherry blossoms in DC last Sunday I passed this woman. Head down, carrying her shopping bags she was moving fast, not looking at anyone.

Resident among the tourists.

Resident among the tourists.

She seemed lonely and isolated even in the midst of the large and noisy tourist crowd. I wished I could talk to her, but she wasn’t sending out friendly vibes. I’m guessing she wasn’t happy with all the tourists inserting themselves into her Sunday routine.

She was an interesting person, and perfect for Cee’s challenge this week.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Cee’s Black and White Photo Challenge: People or animals

  1. A wonderful shot. I know I can’t enjoy an art gallery when there are tons of tourists. It’s hard not to enjoy the whimsical beauty of the cherry blossoms. Glad you got to see the cherry blossoms.

    Like

  2. Great photo – certainly an interesting perspective. It’s a good to remember not every one is visiting. Just got home from vacation in Florida where the tourists drive prices up for the people who live there year round. I can only imagine how the locals feel when a ten minute walk takes twice as long because of the congestion. Enjoy your week.

    Like

    • I shot it blindly from my hip with my little point and shoot. She was much older than she looks in black and white, tiny under the big black coat. Dark wig, bright blush on her cheeks. Very striking.

      Like

  3. a now she is not alone and you will always remember her. 😀 Great candid.

    Like

  4. Lost in her own world… great shot.

    Like

  5. Interesting photo — wouldn’t you like to know what was really on her mind??

    Like

  6. She looks pretty well put together though. Everyone has a story….

    Like

    • I think she came from old money. Sort of like Jackie O. She was tiny tiny tiny under the big coat. Dark wig not quite right on her head, two bright red blushed cheeks. Used to taking care of herself. Not taking anything from anyone.

      Like

  7. I was struck by the crisp white eyelet scarf or blouse and the introspective look. She’s probably wondering what the heck is going on with her Social Security and her medical insurance and her actual health care and the interrelated costs and benefits. She is probably headed to her local Social Security office because she has spent far too much time on hold listening to bad music and would rather sit in the office for a couple of hours reading a book in relative peace. Just a guess . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

