Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Morning in DC

16 Comments

Sunrise on the Hill.

Sunrise on the Hill.


Part two of the cherry blossom saga. Easter weekend was my first visit to DC during cherry blossom time. Sunday I explored, along with thousands of others, the beautiful tidal basin ringed with cherry trees showing off their blossoms. Monday was spent at meetings, but Tuesday morning I had a couple of hours before my flight. So I got up before dawn and rode the metro back to the Hill.

It was an entirely different experience.

For one, the sun came up and lit the western edge of the basin with a rosy glow that complimented the pink and white cherry blossoms. And for another, there were far fewer people out there. Most of them were joggers like me, or photographers also like me, though many of them had fancy equipment. I was carrying my trusty point and shoot, the better to get runs in between stops for photos.

Jefferson glowing way over there.

Jefferson glowing way over there.

The first bit of sun tinged the top of the Jefferson Monument pink, and though it was beautiful I was still two very busy streets away. Still, I got a bit of it as I zoomed in as far as my little camera would go.

As I got closer to the tidal basin the sun was beginning to focus on the cherry trees themselves. Pretty breathtaking.

Morning light and cherry blossoms.

Morning light and cherry blossoms.

I could have spent hours just meandering beneath the beautiful trees…

The trees were art.

The trees were art.

…but I had limited time. So I headed over to the Martin Luther King monument, just around the corner. I took a few shots of him framed in cherry blossoms, but I liked this version best.

Contemplation in morning light.

Contemplation in morning light.

No blossoms, but a strong look for a strong man.

Then I checked my watch and realized I had time to visit President Lincoln if I ran. So I did. It was a great run, along the reflecting pool up to the Lincoln Monument. Could I make it up those steps at a run?

You can do it!

You can do it!

Why yes I could. And there was hardly anyone there, so I got a moment alone with the President. He was warmed by the morning sun, glad to see a new day. Me too.

Good morning Mr. President.

Good morning Mr. President.

And because I was so close, I jogged over to the Vietnam wall. There were lots of veterans there. I learned later that it was Vietnam Veterans Day, and I had just missed the ceremony.

Reflection.

Reflection.

I didn’t jog past the wall, instead taking my time to walk it, reading a few names from each panel. So many names. So many families. Heartbreaking.

But time was slipping away. So I headed back, moving more quickly, probably my longest run. And it felt uphill at that, though I don’t suppose it was.

A long way back.

A long way back.

A good place to stop and catch my breath was the WWII memorial. I walked through a part of it, paid my respects and kept going.

Peacefully empty.

Peacefully empty.

WW II, Washington Monument and Flag in morning light.

WW II, Washington Monument and Flag in morning light.

Heading back over the Washington Monument hill I saw lines of people already forming for the attraction. The sun was fully up. It was time to give the city back to the tourists and be on my way.

I didn’t want to leave.

I had experienced some pretty special moments during my early morning run. Not something I’ll be able to do again soon. Spending a couple days in the Nation’s Capitol turned out to be a gift.

With one last look over my shoulder I jogged toward the metro station and my flight home.

Until next time.

Until next time.

Bye Washington DC. I had a great time. See you soon.

I have no idea why Ronald was out so early.

I have no idea why Ronald was out so early.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Morning in DC

  1. What a glorious morning run you had! “Cherry blossom Dawn”

    Like

  2. Beautiful! How fortunate you chose to be there so early…such a special morning. Thanks so much for sharing 🌸

    Like

    • I had severe doubts when I got up so early and it was dark out and I had to take the metro into town. But there were lots of people already up and going to their jobs…and I was glad I wasn’t one of THEM!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks like it was a perfect time of year to visit DC. Morning light is so inspirational, I think, whereas evening light is peaceful.

    Like

  4. What gorgeous photos, Dawn — you were wise to make time to see the cherry blossoms in “first light.” And thank you for including Mr. Lincoln — he looks fabulous in a rosy hue!

    Now that you’ve glimpsed bits and pieces of these wonderful trees, perhaps you can head back some day soon and show us what they look like in the evening??

    Like

    • I couldn’t be there and NOT go see the trees. I’m so lucky I was there the right days! I hope I’m there at this time of year again some year.

      Like

  5. I enjoyed joining you on your run Dawn. Great shots of an area I have yet to visit. Maybe one day!!

    Like

  6. I really enjoyed the morning run with you. (Actually, thanks to the miracle of blogging, I walked while you ran.) I lived there for three years plus two summers, and the Cherry Blossom Festival was my favorite event every single May. The Lincoln Memorial is still my favorite monument. I’m glad you had such a wonderful trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogging miracles are special. Glad you could walk along. I’ll share a little secret….I walked a bunch too. It was a great trip…just a week ago, seems so long ago this morning.

      Like

  7. Morning is my favorite time of day, no matter where I am. I might be ok living in a city if I only had to go outside in the morning!

    The Vietnam memorial is such a somber place. I wonder if it will remain that way as generations pass.

    Like

    • I think it will. The WWII is somber too, as are many of the monuments…Korea, Martin Luther King Jr…I think most people have a certain respect. I didn’t make it all the way over to Roosevelt..I love that one too, it’s more casual, spread among the trees. I’ve seen children playing there and it didn’t feel disrespectful like it might at Lincoln or Jefferson.

      Like

  8. Thank you for the early morning look around DC. I need to get there one of these days.

    Like

  9. Breathtaking photos. Love the cherry blossoms in the morning light.

    Like

Leave a Reply

