Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Park times two!

20 Comments

Katie here!

HEY! Did you all have a wonderful weekend? I sure did! My mama took me to my park yesterday AND today! OK. She doesn’t get credit for thinking of it all on her own today. A friend messaged her and suggested we meet them over at my park and I have to say mama got me in the car and over there in ten minutes! She can be efficient when she wants to be, my mama, but if it wasn’t for that friend I’d have been inside this boring house all day! Thank you Aunt Karen!

But I digress.

Let me tell you about my adventures! Mama says yesterday was cold, because it was the last day of winter. I guess winter is supposed to be cold. I, personally, thought it was perfect.

Mama likes these two trees.  I don't know why.

Mama likes these two trees. I don’t know why.

I trotted right along at a brisk pace because I was feeling terrific! I told mama to stop dawdling and taking pictures of stuff, even of me, because I had things to sniff and places to pee on.

When we first got to the park mama heard the cranes making a bunch of noise at the back of the park. We figured we’d come upon them when we got back there, but we didn’t see them. When we got to the place furthest away from the car mama heard the cranes up at the front of the park. She told me she figured they were dancing a jig around the car laughing at us.

She was wrong.

When we got out of the woods and close to the softball fields we topped a little hill and guess what? THERE THEY WERE just on the other side of the hill. Like 10 feet away from us! They were just as surprised as we were. Mama grabbed my leash extra hard but I had no intention of getting anywhere near these giant birds.

They squawked a bunch but didn’t leave…just continued to voice their displeasure at me being in what I guess they consider their park, and then they casually walked down the hill and over to the softball field. Mama’s picture isn’t very good, she was trying to hang on to me and take the picture and she couldn’t see in the viewfinder whether she even got the birds in the shot.

Those are bigger than ME mama!

Those are bigger than ME mama!

She did, but you have to really look. You can click on the photo and make it bigger and maybe you can see them.

Then today my friend Deuce had his mom contact my mama so we could go on a walk together. I think he likes me, but I told him I had a boyfriend already. Deuce is fine just being friends, cause he’s a good guy. I didn’t sit too close to him so that my boyfriend Reilly the Cowspot Dog doesn’t get jealous.

Close...but not TOO close.

Close…but not TOO close.

Then our mamas called us and we raced to them. Well. Deuce raced. I sort of sauntered. As befitting a princess and all.

I let him win.  I'm a good park hostess.

I let him win. I’m a good park hostess.

Deuce loves to run. Mama took a bunch of pictures of him and I wasn’t even jealous. I was having too good a time showing Deuce my park.

Deuce can fly!

Deuce can fly!

I had fun this afternoon even though it was warmer today and I was slower than Deuce. After all I am 9, and Deuce is a much younger guy. I bet he didn’t even need to take a nap when he got home. Me? I went straight to sleep on my princess pile of pillows after mama brushed the burs out of my fur. I blame the burs on her, she’s supposed to watch out for things like that and she failed miserably. She was too busy talking to Aunt Karen. I’m not going to tip her this time, as she didn’t earn it at all.

So hard to get good help these days you know.

Beautiful me.

Beautiful me.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Park times two!

  1. What a wonderful time you had and I love your friend Deuce!!!!!! I am NOT a fan of ducks, geese or cranes that’s for sure!! They tried to chase me once! Barks and licks and love, Dakota DakotasDen

    Like

    • You are smart Dakota! Especially with geese and their babies, those geese are MEAN! So are swans. Cranes and Herons pretty much just fly away. We think.

      Like

  2. Hi Katie. I like those two trees, too, but couldn’t explain to you why. Maybe the why doesn’t matter? I don’t like to get close to giant birds either. Glad you were able to get to your park twice in one weekend. 🙂

    Like

  3. What a perfect weekend for the Princess! Bet you had some good dreams while you were napping.

    Like

  4. You’re a really lucky girl. Shasta and Bailey were out for awhile yesterday. Shasta helped me clean out a flower bed, while Bailey watched. Today they’ve been inside except when they had to go out, because it rained all day and I went out with a friend for awhile.

    Like

  5. Spring has Sprung!

    Like

  6. Two trips to the park – that was a wonderful weekend. So long as Deuce remains a gentleman I am fine with him being a friend – but if he tries making any moves on you – I just might have to nip his butt 🙂 You are looking so beautiful Katie Princess – your winter coat looks so warm and fluffy

    Like

  7. Looks like you had a blast at the park. It sure looks like a big area to find good sniffies
    Lily & Edward

    Like

    • It’s pretty big, and lots and lots to sniff…messages left by other doggies, and then cranes and herons and geese and deer and mice and who knows what else! Oh don’t forget the ground squirrels and chipmunks. And robins and blackbirds.

      Like

  8. Sounds like a perfect weekend for a princess, Katy! Dallas has never seen cranes that close (something tells me he wouldn’t like them either, but he’d like to investigate them!). Burs in Sheltie furs are no good, even when that Sheltie fur is ready to be blown out anyway!

    Like

  9. Great picture of Duece’s flying ears!

    Like

  10. What a great couple of days! Any day outside is a good one in Petey’s book! But he has to wear a coat; he doesn’t have your flowing locks to keep him warm 😉

    Like

  11. Deuce is an inspiration. I must redouble my efforts to tidy the Cowboy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

